Lehigh Valley campus honors business students

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – An invitation into Sigma Beta Delta is one of the highest recognitions that a business student can achieve. To be inducted into this organization a student must be ranked academically in the upper 20 percent of their class.

To celebrate the efforts of those students achieving a high level of academic excellence, the local Sigma Beta Delta chapter inducted ten Penn State Lehigh Valley students at an honors reception and induction ceremony held on Wednesday, April 9, at the Lehigh Valley campus in the art gallery. In addition to business faculty and staff, friends and family were present to witness the induction of new members.

The International Society of Sigma Beta Delta was established in 1994 to honor scholastic achievement in higher education. The purpose of the society is to encourage and recognize achievement of business, management and administration students. With over 340 chapters, including one international chapter, the society’s membership is prevalent throughout the business world.

Inductees at Penn State Lehigh Valley included:

-- Seniors: James Burgess, Elizabeth Eckert, Michelle Halpin, Maureen Piercy, Lindsay Smith

-- Juniors: Desiree Ayala-Perez, Nathan Bloomfield, Sara Piotrowski, Diana Sanchez, Raymundo Hernandez

Current members are students Ryan Alexander, Ashlee Brotzman, Tarek Diab, James Faircloth, Katelyn Headdings, Michael Manning (vice-president), Jason Short, Mandy Marquardt (president) and June Tran.

Faculty officers are Denise T. Ogden, associate professor of marketing (president), Mike Krajsa, instructor of management (vice-president) and Robert Wolfe, instructor of business administration (secretary/treasurer).

Media Contacts: 

Allison Goodin

Work Phone: 
Twitter Handle: 

Director of Enrollment Marketing, Penn State Lehigh Valley

Last Updated April 16, 2014