Two teams win seven awards at architectural engineering national contest

Curtis Chan
April 08, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Two teams of Penn State architectural engineering students came away with seven awards at the 2014 Charles Pankow Foundation Annual Architectural Engineering Student Design Competition on March 29 in Philadelphia.

The competition, organized by the Architectural Engineering Institute (AEI) of the American Society of Civil Engineers and hosted by Drexel University, challenged students to address the design, integration and construction for a new high-profile, 30-story office building in San Francisco. Teams were asked to integrate engineered systems for a high performance building with an eye towards sustainable design.

Students were judged in five primary categories including structural, mechanical and electrical engineering, as well as construction management and integration.

Penn State won first place in four of the five primary categories and was runner-up in three categories.

Team AVANT from Penn State won the electrical, mechanical and structural categories and was the runner-up in the construction category. The group included Robert Fazio, Tyler Dietz, Christopher Coakley, Katharine Gausseres, Rebecca Slocum, Nicholas Rekstad, Jordan Miller and Eric Ripkin.

Team AEVITAS from Penn State won the construction category and was the runner-up in the structural and integration categories. The group included Lara Kaiserian, Kristin Sliwinski, Alex van Eeden, Abigail Kreider, Kieran Carlisle, Drew Canfield, Jonathan Sharp and Robert Livorio.

M. Kevin Parfitt, associate professor of architectural engineering and one of the teams' lead faculty advisers, said the four first-place awards matched last year's tally and noted that it was only Penn State's second year of participation in the contest.

He added, "There were numerous comments and feedback from the jury attesting to the technical strength and depth of analysis demonstrated by the Penn State architectural engineering student teams."

In addition to Parfitt, Charles Cox, instructor of architectural engineering, and Ryan Solnosky, research associate in architectural engineering, served as lead faculty advisers.

The team's technical advisers were John Messner, professor of architectural engineering; Richard Mistrick, associate professor of architectural engineering; and Moses Ling, associate professor of architectural engineering; and Solnosky.

A total of ten teams from seven architectural engineering programs submitted projects for the competition.

"Our architectural engineering program and the student teams that participated once again set the bar very high for the national competition, not only for the other architectural engineering schools, but for the Penn State architectural engineering teams that will follow next year," Cox said.

The 2015 competition will be held during the AEI’s 6th Biennial Professional Conference from March 24 to 27 in Milwaukee, Wisc., and hosted by the Milwaukee School of Engineering.

Last Updated April 08, 2014