Greater Allegheny to hold 31st annual Honors Convocation

Penn State Greater Allegheny will hold its 31st annual Honors Convocation at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 8, in the Wunderley Gymnasium on campus. Interim Chancellor Nancy Herron will preside. Outstanding Penn State Greater Allegheny students will receive awards for academic achievement and leadership.

Each year, students are recognized for their achievements in academic, honors and scholars programs, the International Honor Society in Psychology (Psi Chi), the International Honor Society in Business, Management and Administration (Sigma Beta Delta) and the Chancellor’s Literary Awards, which are selected by the chancellor to represent the best from among the literary and visual arts produced at the campus by either full- or part-time students.

Other named scholarships and campus awards cover a broad range of criteria for each respective honor, such as the John W. Beatty Memorial Scholarship, Kalich Family Student Leadership Award and the Eric & Josephine Walker Award, which honors students whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship have been directed into programs and services that have positively influenced fellow students and have contributed to the prestige and well-being of their campus. 

The Penn State Greater Allegheny Alumni Society will award scholarships from its endowed fund. 

To recognize the top students in each discipline, the ceremony closes with the Faculty Awards for Academic Excellence.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated April 02, 2014