Maggie Lucas among Wade Trophy finalists

March 27, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- For the second-straight season, Lady Lion senior guard Maggie Lucas (Narberth, Pa.) is among the 12 finalists for The Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division I women's basketball player, it was announced Thursday by The Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and SHAPE America.

Lucas is just the second Lady Lion to be a two-time Wade Trophy finalist, joining Kelly Mazzante as the only players to earn the honor. Susan Robinson is Penn State's only Wade Trophy winner, claiming the award as a senior in 1992.

Lucas, who was also recently named WBCA All-Region, is winding down one of the most prolific careers in Penn State and Big Ten history. The two-time Big Ten Player of the Year ranks second at Penn State and fourth in Big Ten in career scoring with 2,504 points. She owns the Big Ten and Penn State record wit 365 career three-pointers, which also ranks 12th in NCAA history. Lucas is also one of the most prolific free throw shooters in conference and school history. She owns the free throw percentage mark for both the Big Ten and Penn State at a .907 career clip and has broke the Lady Lion record for career free throws made (547) and single-season free throws with 185 this year.

A three-time All-Big Ten first team selection, Lucas is the only player in school history and just the sixth player in the Big Ten to accumulate 2,000 points, 500 rebounds, 250 assists and 200 steals. Lucas is a finalist for the Wooden Award and the Senior CLASS Award and is a semifinalist for the Naismith Trophy.

"The Wade Trophy is one of the most exciting awards to be a part of, because these 12 finalists are the games' most elite players and are truly exciting to watch," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "This trophy is the equivalent to the Heisman Trophy, which is given out annually in collegiate football. These finalists play immense roles as members of their respective institutions' women's basketball programs and one of them will be honored with our sport's most prestigious award."

The Wade Trophy, now in its 37th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The Wade Trophy from among these 12 finalists who also are named to the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches' All-America Team when it is chosen in April. The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5:30 p.m. CT Monday, April 7, in the Omni Nashville Hotel's Broadway Ballroom. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

The Wade Trophy Finalists
Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut
Bria Hartley, Connecticut
Jordan Hooper, Nebraska
Natasha Howard, Florida State Jewell Loyd, Notre Dame
Maggie Lucas, Penn State
Kayla McBride, Notre Dame
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford
Odyssey Sims, Baylor
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut
Alyssa Thomas, Maryland

About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit

About SHAPE America:
The vision of the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE America) is "Healthy People - Physically Educated and Physically Active!" Headquartered in Reston, VA, 25 miles west of Washington, DC, SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals involved in physical education, physical activity and school health--all specialties related to achieving an active, healthy lifestyle. Founded in 1885, its mission is to advance professional practice and promote research related to health and physical education, physical activity, dance and sport by providing its members with a comprehensive and coordinated array of resources, support and programs to help practitioners improve their skills to further the health and well-being of the American public. For more information, visit

The Lady Lions are on Twitter. Follow the Lady Lions and coaches (@pennstatewbb) and sports information contact Kris Petersen (@ladylionsid) to get the inside scoop. The Lady Lions are also on Facebook at


(Media Contacts)

Last Updated March 27, 2014