2014 Faculty/Staff Award recipients announced, lauded for achievements

March 20, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Each year, Penn State honors several members of its faculty and staff for the highest levels of academic excellence, outstanding leadership and meritorious service. The 2014 Faculty/Staff Award recipients -- 33 outstanding University employees and one program -- reach across campuses, colleges and administrative units and exemplify best practices and achievements among Penn Staters reflecting the University's mission of teaching, research and service.

The honorees will receive their awards at a private ceremony at noon Monday, March 24, on the University Park campus.

Articles about this year's award recipients are linked below, listed below by award category.

Undergraduate Faculty Teaching Awards

The Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching: John Gamble, distinguished professor of political science and International Law, Director of Honors Programs, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College; and Martin W. Trethewey, Arthur L. Glenn Professor of Mechanical
Engineering, College of Engineering

The George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching: Meredith Defelice, senior lecturer in biochemistry and molecular biology, Eberly College of Science; Michael M. Evans, assistant chief academic officer and instructor in nursing, College of Nursing, Penn State Worthington Scranton; Karen Kackley-Dutt, instructor in biology, Penn State Lehigh Valley; Dale Olver, instructor in dairy and animal science, College of Agricultural Sciences; Ute Poerschke, associate professor of architecture, College of Arts and Architecture; and Jessica B. Schocker, assistant professor of social studies education and women’s studies, Division of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, Penn State Berks

The Alumni/Student Award for Excellence in Teaching (2014 Penn State Teaching Fellows): Lynette Kvasny, associate professor of information sciences and technology, College of Information Sciences and Technology; Laura Rotunno, associate professor of English and honors program coordinator, Division of Arts and Humanities, Penn State Altoona; and Jennifer K. Wood, associate professor, Communication Arts and Sciences, Penn State New Kensington

The Penn State Excellence in Advising Award:
-- Faculty: Robert M. Rioux, Friedrich G. Helfferich Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering
-- Staff: Timothy J. Radio, business analyst/functional team member, Project LionPATH, Penn State Mont Alto

The President's Award for Excellence in Academic Integration: Paul F. Clark, director and professor, School of Labor and Employment Relations, College of the Liberal Arts

The President's Award for Engagement with Students: Peter Aeschbacher, associate professor of landscape architecture and architecture, Stuckeman School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, College of Arts and Architecture

The Undergraduate Program Leadership Award: LuAnn Demi, program director, Occupational Therapy Assistant Program, Penn State DuBois

Graduate Faculty Teaching Awards

The Howard B. Palmer Faculty Mentoring Award: Peggy A. Johnson, professor and head of civil and environmental engineering, College of Engineering

The Graduate Faculty Teaching Award: Matthew P. McAllister, assistant graduate program chair and professor of media studies, College of Communications

The Graduate School Alumni Society Graduate Program Chair Leadership Award: David G. Atwill, associate professor of history and Asian studies, College of the Liberal Arts

Faculty Scholar Medals:
-- Arts and Humanities Medal: Eric Hayot, distinguished professor of comparative literature and Asian studies, College of the Liberal Arts
-- Life and Health Sciences Medal: Joan Richtsmeier, distinguished professor of anthropology, College of the Liberal Arts
-- Physical Sciences Medal: Eric D. Feigelson, professor of astronomy and astrophysics and of statistics, Eberly College of Science
-- Social and Behavioral Sciences Medal: Karl Stephen Zimmerer, professor and head of the department of geography, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences 

Faculty and Staff Achievement Awards

The McKay Donkin Award: Mark M. Luellen, director of alumni relations and development, College of the Liberal Arts, Office of University Development

The Award for Administrative Excellence: Pamela J. Stauffer, administrative coordinator for the Department of Electrical Engineering, College of Engineering

The Staff Excellence Award: Mary G. Beahm, Senior Director, Recruitment and Compensation, Office of Human Resources

The Support Staff Award: Lynn Sebulsky, administrative support assistant to the associate dean for Graduate Education/dean’s office, College of the Liberal Arts

The Barash Award for Human Service: Steve Sampsell, director of college relations and senior lecturer, College of Communications

The Dr. James Robinson Equal Opportunity Award: José A. Soto, associate professor of psychology, College of the Liberal Arts

The W. LaMarr Kopp International Faculty and Staff Achievement Award:
-- Faculty: Mark A. Brennan, professor and UNESCO Chair in Rural Community, Leadership, and Youth Development, College of Agricultural Sciences
-- Staff: Jane Reese, associate coordinator, Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program, International Programs, College of Education 

The Penn State Award for Faculty Outreach: Yuefeng Xie, professor of environmental engineering, School of Science, Engineering, and Technology, Penn State Harrisburg

The Shirley Hendrick Award: Ann M. Williams, chancellor, Penn State Lehigh Valley

Community Engagement and Scholarship Award: The PROSPER Project, lead faculty: Mark T. Greenberg, Bennett Chair of Prevention Research, College of Health and Human Development

A full description of each of the Faculty/Staff Awards with contacts for further information is online at http://www.psu.edu/ur/awards/faculty.html.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated January 30, 2015