2014 Student Award recipients announced, lauded for achievements

March 18, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Each year, Penn State honors several undergraduate and graduate students for the highest levels of academic excellence, outstanding leadership and meritorious service. The 2014 Student Award recipients reach across campuses and colleges and exemplify best practices and achievements among Penn State students reflecting the University's mission of teaching, research and service.

The 26 honorees will receive their awards at a ceremony at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, March 23, at Eisenhower Auditorium. The award recipients are listed below by category.

Student Achievement Awards
-- Ralph Dorn Hetzel Memorial Award: Margaret Eimers and Chelsea Miller
-- The Ernest B. McCoy Memorial Award: Adrian Evans and Emily Giannotti
-- The W. LaMarr Kopp International Achievement Undergraduate Award: Jessica Paholsky
-- The Jackson Lethbridge Tolerance Award: Charisma Ricksy
-- The John W. Oswald Award: Evan Foulsham, athletics; Jessica Tully, journalism, speech and mass media; Cortlyn Hagman and Mark Goldy-Brown, scholarship; Tiffany Cole, social sciences, activities and student government
-- The Eric A. Walker Award: Grant Kovich
-- Astronaut Scholarship Foundation recipient: Daniel Abercrombie
-- Goldwater Scholarship recipient: Jon Groh

The Graduate School
-- The Graduate Student Service Award: Kathryne Woodle
-- The Harold F. Martin Graduate Assistant Outstanding Teaching Awards: Janelle Applequist, Ehssan Khanmohammadi, Anne Kretsinger-Harries, Kristopher Lotier, Daisy Phillips, Ryan Pollock, David Puglia, Drew Shade, Andrew Stafford and Luorong (Laurie) Wu
-- The W. LaMarr Kopp International Achievement Graduate Award: Paige Castellanos

A full description of each of the Student Awards with contacts for further information is online at http://www.psu.edu/ur/awards/students.html.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 12, 2016