Lady Lions earn No. 3 seed in NCAA Tournament

March 18, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- The No. 15/14 Penn State Lady Lions (22-7, 13-3) earned their fourth-straight NCAA Tournament appearance after claiming a No. 3 seed in the 2014 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament where they will face No. 14 Wichita State (26-6, 14-4 Missouri Valley) on Sunday at 12:30 p.m. at the Bryce Jordan Center.

The Penn State-Wichita State contest will be the first game of a doubleheader with No. 6 seed Dayton (23-7, 14-12 Atlantic 10) facing No. 11 Florida (19-12, 8-8 SEC) at 3 p.m. on ESPN. The winner of each game will face off in a second round matchup on Tuesday at 7 p.m. The Penn State-Wichita State game will be televised on ESPN2 and ESPN3.

Penn State is making its 25th NCAA Tournament appearance and fourth-straight. The Lady Lions are making four consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances for the first time since earning seven-straight berths from 1999-05. Penn State is one of only 10 teams to earn 25 or more NCAA Tournament berths. The Lady Lions are 30-24 all-time in the NCAA Tournament.

Single-session tickets for either the NCAA Tournament First Round or Second Round games at University Park are $20 for adults and $11 for youth and students. There is also a single-session group rate for groups of 20 or more of any age at $10. Fans can purchase tickets by calling 1-800-NITTANY or visiting the Bryce Jordan Center ticket office between the hours of 9 a.m. - 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. NCAA Tournament First and Second Round ticket information and a link to purchase online for the University Park site is also available at

All-session tickets for the NCAA Tournament First and Second Rounds at University Park, which will give you admission to both first round games on Sunday, March 23 and to the second round game on Tuesday, March 25, are $30 for adults and $17 for youth and students. There is also an all-session group rate for groups of 20 or more of any age at $18 per package.

The first 100 Penn State students to come to Sunday's games will receive a free ticket courtesy of the Lady Lion Cager Club.

The Lady Lions and the Shockers have never met on the hardwood. Penn State is 1-1 all-time against current Missouri Valley Conference teams. As for the other teams in the University Park bracket, Penn State is 2-1 all-time against Dayton and 1-1 versus Florida.

The Lady Lions are 14th in this week's Associated Press poll and 15th in the USA Today Sports Coaches' Poll with a 22-7 overall record and 13-3 mark in Big Ten play. Three-time Big Ten Coach of the Year Coquese Washington has led the Lady Lions to three consecutive Big Ten regular-season titles for the first time in program history, Big Ten or Atlantic 10. The Lady Lions earn their 25th berth into the NCAA Tournament and fourth consecutive bid. Senior guard Maggie Lucas (Narberth, Pa.) won her second-straight Big Ten Player of the Year honor from the media after averaging 21.4 points, 4.1 rebounds and 1.9 steals per game. The three-time All-Big Ten first team selection broke the Big Ten and Penn State career three-pointers record against Ohio State. Fellow senior Dara Taylor (Wilmington, Del.) took home Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year honors and All-Big Ten second team accolades as she led the league in steals (2.9) and is fifth in assists (5.0). She also ranks third on the team in scoring at an 11.7 per game clip. Senior guard/forward Ariel Edwards (Elmont, N.Y.) garnered All-Big Ten first team accolades after accounting for 15.4 points per game and 6.0 rebounds, while senior post player Talia East (Philadelphia, Pa.) was named All-Big Ten honorable mention with a 7.9 scoring average and 7.3 rebounding mark.

For the 15th time, Penn State has been selected to host the NCAA First and Second Rounds. The Bryce Jordan Center is one of 16 venues that will host the 2014 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship First and Second Round games. The other universities hosting the First and Second Round games are Iowa State, LSU, North Carolina, Maryland, Texas A&M, Duke, Iowa, Tennessee, Kentucky, UCLA, Washington, Connecticut, Toledo, Baylor and Purdue. The 2014 Regional Rounds will be held in Lincoln, Neb., Louisville, Ky., Notre Dame, Ind. and Stanford, Calif. 

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated March 28, 2014