Lechner, McCormick named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

February 28, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Juniors Kelly Lechner (Silver Spring, Md.) and Maggie McCormick (Eldersburg, Md.) of the eighth-ranked Penn State women's lacrosse team have been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Thursday.

An IWLCA Second Team All-American in 2013, Lechner has collected five points (4g, 1a) this season, while adding four draw controls, three ground balls and three caused turnovers. During the 2013 campaign, the Silver Spring, Md., native led the team in draw controls (49) and shots (97) and finished second on the team in goals (47).

McCormick, who was named a Tewaaraton Award nominee a season ago, ranks second on the team with seven points (5g, 2a) and has added three ground balls, one draw control and one caused turnover. In 2013, the IWLCA Second Team All-Americans recorded the most points in a season by a Nittany Lion since 1989 (87). The Eldersburg, Md., native led the team in points (87), goals (50) and assists (37).

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Additions to the Watch List will be announced March 20 and April 10 before the field of 25 women's and men's nominees are announced April 24. The five finalists for each award will be announced May 8 with the winners being unveiled May 20 in Washington, D.C.

The Penn State standouts have led the squad to a 2-1 record in 2014. The Nittany Lions will return to action Saturday, March 1 when they face Virginia. Opening draw in Charlottesville, Va., is set for noon.   

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated February 28, 2014