Video: Penn State names Eric J. Barron the 18th president

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Penn State's Board of Trustees today (Feb. 17) in a special meeting unanimously voted to name Eric J. Barron the 18th president of the University. Barron, a former dean at Penn State and current leader of Florida State University, will begin as Penn State's next president on May 12, 2014.

After an exhaustive search, Barron was appointed today (Feb. 17) during a special meeting of the University's Board of Trustees on the unanimous recommendation of the 14-member Trustee Presidential Selection Council, chaired by Trustee Karen Peetz. Barron will succeed Rodney A. Erickson, who in 2012 announced his intention to retire before June 30, 2014.  A link to information about the president-elect's compensation will be posted online at as soon as it is available.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Penn State Board of Trustees will be held March 6 and 7 at the Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated February 17, 2014