University teaching award nominations sought

December 10, 2013

Nominations to honor outstanding faculty with the Atherton and Eisenhower awards, and the Alumni/Student Award for Excellence in Teaching can now be submitted online. Nominations for teaching awards are collected throughout the year; a form is available at

George W. Atherton Award
The George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching, named for the seventh president of the University (1882-1907), is presented each year to four faculty members who have devoted substantial effort to undergraduate teaching.

Milton S. Eisenhower Award
The Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching, established in 1992, is generally awarded to two faculty who, in addition to being outstanding teachers themselves, have also provided some kind of support or mentoring to others. Milton S. Eisenhower was president of Penn State from 1950 to 1956.

Alumni/Student Award for Excellence in Teaching
This award, made possible by the Penn State Alumni Association, the Undergraduate Student Government and the Graduate Student Association, recognizes distinguished teaching and provides a forum for encouraging effective teaching. Recipients are asked to share their talents and expertise with others throughout the University system. Year-long responsibilities may include such activities as participating in workshops and symposia, giving lectures or presentations on teaching techniques for new faculty and graduate assistants, taking part in discussions or seminars with students in the Schreyer Honors College, or teaching honors courses.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated December 13, 2013