Two named Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers fellows

Curtis Chan
December 06, 2013

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Two engineering faculty members have each been named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Padma Raghavan, associate vice president for research, director of strategic initiatives, director of the Institute for CyberScience and distinguished professor of computer science and engineering; and Srinivas Tadigadapa, professor of electrical engineering and biomedical engineering, will receive the IEEE's highest honor.

Raghavan was lauded for her contributions to robust scalable sparse solvers and energy-efficient parallel scientific computing.

A member of the Penn State faculty since 2000, Raghavan's contributions predominantly concern increasing computational performance by constant factors to orders of magnitude for calculations that involve high-dimensional sparse and unstructured data including matrices and graphs.

Some of her notable contributions include new algorithms for the scalable parallel solution of sparse linear systems; schemes for characterizing and mitigating the impact of transient errors on sparse solvers; communication-avoiding algorithms for parallel dense and sparse linear algebra calculations; and techniques for achieving energy-efficient high performance for scientific applications.

Her awards and honors include the National Science Foundation's Faculty Early Career Development Award and the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Distinguished Scholar Award from the University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory.

Tadigadapa was cited for his contributions to microelectromechanical systems (MEMs) for fluidic and biochemical sensors.

A member of the Penn State faculty since 2000, Tadigadapa is a MEMs expert and specializes in the design, optimization, fabrication and testing of MEMs transducers.

Prior to joining the University, he served as vice president of manufacturing at Integrated Sensing Systems.

Tadigadapa was a research fellow at the University of Karlsruhe in Germany and a visiting professor at Otto von Guericke University in Germany and the Tyndall National Institute in Ireland.

His awards and honors include the Cambridge Nehru Scholarship for his doctorate in Cambridge, England, the Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship from Germany in 1993 and the E.T.S. Walton Visitor Award from Science Foundation Ireland in 2007. Tadigadapa is currently a fellow of the Insitute of Physics in London.

Each year, fewer than 0.1 percent of voting IEEE members are selected for elevation to fellow.

Last Updated April 21, 2017