Lewis named Coach of the Year, four golfers make all-conference team

Steve Harmic
October 31, 2013

The Penn State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) has announced post season awards for golf, and the Penn State DuBois team has earned a reputation in the conference during its inaugural season. Head coach Pat Lewis has been named PSUCA Coach of the Year for golf, and four of his players were chosen for the all-conference team.

Lewis built the Penn State DuBois Golf Team from the ground, up. He is also the campus women's basketball coach, and has previously coached basketball, golf, baseball and track at the high school level. Collectively, Lewis has more than 36 years of coaching experience.  He has received numerous Coach of the Year honors from his high school coaching days and has been a past recipient of the Tri-County Sunday Coach of the Decade Award and the Olean Times Herald Big 30 Coach of the Year Award. 

Leading the way for DuBois on the PSUAC Golf All-Conference team was John Gaylor with a (157) total in the two-day conference championship event. Gaylor was joined on the PSUAC All-Conference team by teammates Derek Buganza, John Kane and Tighe Truman. 

Members of the Penn State DuBois golf team just completed their inaugural season and captured many of the headlines after completing a 30-7 record and winning the PSUAC Championship earlier in the month. The team won two PSUAC match victories during the season as well as the season ending conference championship. DuBois led the conference selection team with four players being named all-conference.

“We couldn’t have hoped for a better season for the golf team, especially in the first season," commented Ken Nellis, Penn State DuBois athletic director. “The players and Coach Lewis should all be commended for their efforts in how they represented our campus in their play and their attitudes as student-athletes throughout the season.”

The PSUAC Player of the Year award went to Cory Teeple of Penn College; Teeple won medalist honors at the conference championships with a total of 155 over two rounds.

Last Updated November 01, 2013