Nominations process now open for Evan Pugh Professorships

August 26, 2013

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Nominations for Evan Pugh Professorships are being sought by the Office of the President.

"The Evan Pugh Professorship recognizes outstanding scholarly and professional achievement among a highly select group of Penn State faculty," Penn State President Rodney Erickson said. "We are pleased to open the nomination process again this year to fill a limited number of positions."

A total of 65 Evan Pugh Professors have been named since the professorships were established in 1960. The 22 currently active Evan Pugh Professors and the year of their appointment are as follows: George E. Andrews, mathematics, 1981; Harry R. Allcock, chemistry, 1985; Nicholas Winograd, chemistry, 1985; A. Welford Castleman, chemistry, 1986; Moses H. W. Chan, physics, 1994; Masatoshi Nei, biology, 1994; James B. Anderson, chemistry, 1996; Paul F. Baum, mathematics, 1996; Leonard S. Jefferson, cellular and molecular physiology, 1996; Robert D. Hume, English, 1998; Alexander Wolszczan, astronomy and astrophysics, 1998; Richard B. Alley, geosciences, 2000; Kenneth M. Weiss, anthropology and genetics, 2000; Anthony Cutler, art history, 2004; Joanna Floros, cellular and molecular physiology, 2004; Nigel Higson, mathematics, 2006; Mary Jane Irwin, computer science and engineering, 2006; Donald Hambrick, business management, 2009; Thomas Mallouk, chemistry and physics, 2009, Jainendra Jain, physics, 2012, James Kasting, geosciences, 2012, and Bruce Logan, environmental engineering, 2012.

The selection process is administered by the Office of the Vice President for Research. The Evan Pugh Advisory Committee will review nominations and make recommendations to the president.

The Evan Pugh Research Professorships were established in 1960 to honor preeminent professors and recognize the importance of research in supporting the quality and reputation of the University.

In 1973, the Board of Trustees approved a title change to "Evan Pugh Professor of (discipline)." Professors are selected without regard to college affiliation, program or location. Professorships are granted only to candidates who are acknowledged national and international leaders in their fields of research or creative activity.

Candidates must “have demonstrated excellent teaching skills and contributed significantly to the education of students, both undergraduate and graduate, who subsequently have achieved demonstrable recognition for excellence in their fields." Candidates also must hold the rank of professor with at least five years of service to Penn State.

All nominations must be submitted to the dean of the academic college in which the nominee is appointed. Requests for Guidelines for Preparation of Nominating Materials or questions pertaining to the process should be directed to Ruth Weber, assistant director, Finance and Administration, Vice President for Research, 304 Old Main, telephone 814-863-9580, email The closing date for receipt of nominating materials to the deans is Oct. 14.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated August 26, 2013