Michele DeJuliis elected to National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

May 23, 2013

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Former Penn State women's lacrosse standout and four-time All-American Michele DeJuliis has been elected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, US Lacrosse announced Wednesday (May 22).

The eight-person Class of 2013, which consists of Jim Berkman, Quinn Carney, DeJuliis, Sue Heether, Bill Miller, Tracy Stumpf, Ryan Wade and Michael Watson, will be formally inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Saturday, Oct. 26 at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

A 1997 graduate, DeJuliis will become the Hall's eighth member with Penn State ties, joining Candace Finn Rocha (1998), Susan Delaney-Scheetz (2000), Betsy Williams Dougherty (2000), Julie Williams (2002), Barb Jordan (2004), Gillian Rattray (2005) and Mary McCarthy Stefano (2010).

A four-time All-American at Penn State, DeJuliis helped lead the Nittany Lions to three NCAA tournaments and a national semifinal appearance during the 1995 season. DeJuliis, who was named a third-team All-American as a freshman, earned first-team All-America honors from 1995-97 and graduated sixth on Penn State's all-time scoring list with 203 points. She led the Nittany Lions in scoring from 1994-96 and, as a senior, was a team captain in the North-South All-Star Game.

A member of the U.S. Women's National Team program, DeJuliis represented her country from 1994-2009 and served as team captain of the 2009 gold medal-winning World Cup team. In 1997, she was awarded the inaugural Aimee Willard Award as the outstanding college player at the National Tournament and later received the Beth Allen Award, presented to a member of the US Lacrosse Women's Division who excels on the field and represents her team and country in a positive fashion at the National Tournament, in 2009.

Prior to her time at Penn State, DeJuliis was a four-year player at Loch Raven High School (Md.), earning first-team All-America laurels from 1991-93 and honorable-mention recognition in 1990. During her high school career, she was selected as The Baltimore Sun's Metro Player of the Year in 1992 and was a two-time All-Metro Team member (1992, 1993). DeJuliis was also a two-time Vail Shootout MVP and four-time Vail Shootout All-Star.

DeJuliis was previously inducted into the US Lacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter Hall of Fame in 2008 and the Loch Raven High School Hall of Fame in 2012.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. More than 380 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located with the Lacrosse Museum at US Lacrosse Headquarters in Baltimore. 

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 23, 2013