Lehigh Valley campus honors business students

April 01, 2013

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- To celebrate the efforts of those students achieving a high level of academic excellence, Sigma Beta Delta, an honor society for business students, inducted 14 Penn State Lehigh Valley students. An honors reception and initiation ceremony was held March 28 at the Lehigh Valley campus in the art gallery. In addition to business faculty and staff, friends and family were present to witness the induction of new members.

An invitation into Sigma Beta Delta is one of the highest recognitions that a business student can achieve. To be inducted into this organization a student must be ranked academically in the upper 20 percent of their class. The International Society of Sigma Beta Delta was established in 1994 to honor scholastic achievement in higher education. The purpose of the society is to encourage and recognize achievement of business, management and administration students. With more than 340 chapters, including one international chapter, the society’s membership is prevalent throughout the business world.

Penn State Lehigh Valley inductees were:

Seniors: Mishal Afzal, Eric Augustine, Jan Hartzel, Eva Kimmerly, Sean MacRitchie

Juniors: Ryan Alexander, Ashlee Brotzman, Tarek Diab, James Faircloth, Katelyn Headdings, Michael Manning, Mandy Marquardt, Jason Short, June Tran

Current members: Michael Al-Khal, Chelsey Kaiser (president), Nicholas S. Richetta, Colin M. Smale (vice-president).

Faculty officers: Denise T. Ogden (president), Mike Krajsa (vice-president), and Robert Wolfe (secretary/treasurer).

  • Penn State Lehigh Valley chapter of Sigma Beta Delta poses in the campus art gallery.

    The 2013 inductees of the Penn State Lehigh Valley chapter of Sigma Beta Delta pose in the campus art gallery following their recent ceremony.

    IMAGE: Jenna Mason

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 02, 2013