Smeal Alumni Society Board honors 2013 award winners

March 22, 2013

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- The Penn State Smeal College of Business Alumni Society Board will present awards to six alumni and two students at the March 22 Alumni Society Board awards banquet. The awards recognize students and alumni for their extraordinary commitment to diversity and the mission of the college.

The awards and the 2013 recipients are:

Smeal Alumni Diversity Award – Heather A. James, 1992, accounting
Heather A. James, assistant sales manager, cosmetics for Macy’s Inc., is an executive board member of the Penn State Alumni Association Council, where she is the immediate-past chair of the Diversity Committee. She is also a member of Penn State’s Educational Equity Advisory Board.

The Smeal Alumni Diversity Award honors alumni who have demonstrated a commitment to the college’s goal of being a diverse and mutually supportive community that provides a climate of sensitivity, open-mindedness and respect.

Smeal Outstanding Young Alumnus Award – Gerard Lam, 2000, management information systems
Gerard Lam is the chief technology officer and founder of SANpulse Technologies, an industry leader in the efforts to modernize, standardize, automate and revolutionize the storage area network industry.

The Smeal Outstanding Young Alumnus Award recognizes recent graduates for their career achievements and community service.

Smeal Outstanding Volunteer Award – Maria Nolan Zuccato, 1981, finance
Maria Nolan Zuccato, regional financial officer for Penn State Brandywine and Great Valley campuses, is vice president of the Smeal Business Club, Philadelphia chapter, and a member of the Penn State Women’s Professional Network of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Women’s Board of the American Cancer Society.

The Smeal Outstanding Volunteer Award honors alumni who serve as a volunteer with the Smeal Alumni Society Board and who volunteer to assist the college in other capacities such as mentoring and recruiting.

Smeal Alumni Service Award – Bette Tobey Kozlowski, 1981, accounting
Bette Tobey Kozlowski is a director in university relations and campus recruiting for KPMG, focused on campus recruiting strategy for Pennsylvania and Virginia business units and national faculty relations strategy. She currently serves as the vice chairperson for the Teaching, Learning and Curriculum section of the American Accounting Association.

The Smeal Alumni Service Award honors alumni whose exceptional allegiance and involvement with Smeal has brought distinction to the college and the University.

Smeal Undergraduate Distinguished Achievement Award – Jason R. Reiman, 1993, business logistics
Jason R. Reiman, as vice president of global customer service, planning and logistics for The Hershey Co., is responsible for transportation, warehousing, import/export, customer supply chain management, customer service, and supply and demand planning. Reiman provides leadership to an integrated logistics and planning organization, focused on delivering reliable customer service, cost improvement and working capital management via finished goods inventory.

The Smeal Undergraduate Distinguished Achievement Award honors undergraduate alumni whose career achievements have brought distinction to themselves and the college, and whose commitments of time, talent or resources have been key to enhancing the prestige of the college.

Smeal Graduate Distinguished Achievement Award – Scott Asplundh, 1982, master of business administration
Scott Asplundh is the chief executive officer for Asplundh Tree Expert Co., headquartered in Willow Grove, Pa., with operations throughout the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. The company employs approximately 25,000 people.

The Smeal Graduate Distinguished Achievement Award honors graduate alumni whose career achievements have brought distinction to themselves and the college, and whose commitments of time, talent or resources have been key to enhancing the prestige of the college.

Smeal Board Sponsorship Award – Marissa Presser, Class of 2013, marketing
Marissa Presser currently serves as the president and marketing career fair coordinator for the student-run Penn State Marketing Association and is also active in the Alpha Delta Pi Sorority. Previously, she was the president and director of faculty and alumni relations for the Smeal Student Society.

The Smeal Board Sponsorship Award honors outstanding Smeal graduating seniors who have demonstrated leadership in the college and outstanding scholarship.

Smeal Student Diversity Award – Anthony Lyon, Class of 2013, management
Anthony Lyon currently serves as president of Strengthening Tomorrow Requires Initiative & Vision Everyday (STRIVE), an organization dedicated to serving underprivileged communities through mentoring and community outreach. He is also a member of the National Association of Black Accountants and the Black Male Leadership Symposium.

The Smeal Student Diversity Award recognizes Smeal students for leadership in an individual group project that furthers diversity efforts at Smeal.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated September 10, 2013