DuBois wrestlers claim 2013 PSUAC Championship

February 18, 2013

The Penn State DuBois Men's Wrestling Team brought home the 2013 Penn State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) Championship Feb. 16 at the USCAA (United State Collegiate Athletic Association) -PSUAC National Wrestling Invitational. The DuBois men came in second overall in the tournament, with Apprentice School claiming the top spot in the team championship for the USCAA. Apprentice finished with 176 team points, followed closely by Penn State DuBois with 168.   

Outstanding wrestlers for DuBois were the Terwilliger brothers. At 174 pounds, Ryan Terwilliger defeated previously undefeated Logan Gresock of Penn College 11-8 in the finals. Stephen Terwilliger, at 184 pounds, defeated Josh Rodriguez in the semis 8-5 and won by technical fall in the finals 17-2 over Genkie Stoutamire of Penn State Greater Allegheny. The other title winners for DuBois were 165 pound Jake Himes and 197 pound Cliff Hill.

Penn College finished in third place with two champions: 133-pound Ryan Hart and 157-pound Tyler Myers. Penn College entered the tournament with several starters not able to wrestle with injuries, which prevented the Wildcats from challenging for the team title. Penn State Greater Allegheny showed the most improvement from the PSUAC schools, finishing fourth with 69.5 team points and having six wrestlers place in the Top 6 in their weights and claim a title at 141 pounds with Eric Rayman defeating Tyler Warner (Mont Alto) 7-4 in the finals.

Team standings and championship results are as follows:

Team scores first place: Apprentice School 176 points, second: PSU DuBois 168, third: Penn College 95.5, fourth: PSU Greater Allegheny 69.5, fifth: Southern Virginia University 50.5, sixth: PSU New Kensington 41, seventh: PSU Beaver 38, eigth: PSU Fayette 30.5, ninth: PSU Mont Alto 30 and 10th: Williamson Trade 24.

Individual results for first place matches:

125.  Ty Ford (A) WBMaj. Dec 14-5 Jake Michael (A)
133.  Ryan Hart (PC) WBDEc. 1-0 Shane Smith (A)
141.  Eric Rayman (GA) WBDec. 7-4 Tyler Warner (MA)
149.  Kyle Spruill (A) WBDec. 7-3 Kasey Haines (Du)
157.  Tyler Myers (PC) WBDec. 6-1 Shane Alterio (Du)
165.  Jake Hikes (Du) WBDec. 7-2 Austin Clark (PC)
174.  Ryan Terwilliger (Du) WBDec. 11-8 Logan Gresock (PC)
184.  Stephen Terwilliger (Du) WBTFall 17-2  Genkie Stoutamire (GA)
197.  Cliff Hill (Du)  WBFall 3:51 Lule Hanson (A)
235.  Kevin Gray (A) WBFall 1:47 Manny Aguilar (Du)
285.  Ian Jones (A) WBFall 4:34 Randy Keehn (WT)

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 24, 2013