Evan Pugh professorship nominations sought

September 01, 2005

The Office of the President is seeking nominations for Evan Pugh Professorships. The selection process is administered by the Office of the Vice President for Research. The Evan Pugh professors are appointed by the president at the recommendation of the Evan Pugh Advisory Committee. The committee will review nominations and make recommendations to the president by March 31, 2006.

"The Evan Pugh Professorship recognizes outstanding scholarly and professional achievement among a highly select group of Penn State faculty," said Penn State President Graham B. Spanier. "We are pleased to open the competition again this year to fill a limited number of vacancies. The addition of these Evan Pugh professors will enhance our efforts to recognize outstanding scholarship at the University."

The Evan Pugh Research professorships were established Feb. 1, 1960, to honor preeminent professors and recognize the importance of research in supporting the quality and reputation of the University. The recipients enjoy enhanced institutional recognition, improvement in salary, support for research or scholarship activities, and a degree of independence from normally assigned duties in their academic departments.

In 1973, the Board of Trustees approved a title change to "Evan Pugh professor of (discipline)." Professors are selected without regard to college affiliation, program or location. Professorships are granted only to candidates who are acknowledged national and international leaders in their fields of research or creative activity. In addition, candidates must "have demonstrated excellent teaching skills and contributed significantly to the education of students, both undergraduate and graduate, who subsequently have achieved demonstrable recognition for excellence in their fields." Candidates also must hold the rank of professor with at least five years of service to Penn State.

Nomination of women and minorities is encouraged. All nominations must be submitted to the dean of the academic college in which the nominee is appointed according to established guidelines. Requests for "Guidelines for Preparation of Nominating Materials" or questions pertaining to the process should be directed to Ginny Imboden, assistant to the vice president for research, 304 Old Main, University Park, at (814) 863-9580 or vxi2@psu.edu. The Evan Pugh professorship selection process is outlined in HR87 of the Penn State Policy Manual (GURU). The closing date for receipt of nominating materials by the deans is Oct. 17.

A total of 57 Evan Pugh professors have been named since the professorships were established in 1960. The 23 currently active Evan Pugh professors and the year of their appointment are: Stephen J. Benkovic, chemistry, 1977; George E. Andrews, mathematics, 1981; Elliot S. Vesell, pharmacology, 1981; Harry R. Allcock, chemistry, 1985; Gordon P. Garmire, astronomy, 1985; Anthony E. Pegg, physiology, 1985; Nicholas Winograd, chemistry, 1985; A. Welford Castleman, chemistry, 1986; Gerald E. McClearn, health and human development, 1986; K. Warner Schaie, human development and psychology, 1986; Moses H.W. Chan, physics, 1994; Masatoshi Nei, biology, 1994; James B. Anderson, chemistry, 1996; Paul F. Baum, mathematics, 1996; Leonard S. Jefferson, cellular and molecular physiology, 1996; Robert D. Hume, English, 1998; Alexander Wolszczan, astronomy and astrophysics, 1998; Richard B. Alley, geosciences, 2000; Kenneth M. Weiss, anthropology and genetics, 2000; Nina V. Fedoroff, biology, 2002; Alan Walker, anthropology and biology, 2002; Anthony Cutler, art history, 2004; and Joanna Floros, cellular and molecular physiology, 2004.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated August 23, 2011