Penn State Dickinson establishes Institute of Arbitration Law and Practice

September 23, 2005

Carlisle, Pa. -- Penn State Dickinson School of Law has established the Penn State University Institute of Arbitration Law and Practice. The purpose of the institute is to advance the study and scholarship of arbitration law and practice in domestic and international contexts.

Thomas E. Carbonneau, the Elsie de Renzo and Samuel P. Orlando distinguished professor of law, is the faculty director of the Institute, and Jeanette Jaeggi is the executive director.

The institute publishes The World Arbitration and Mediation Report, The Journal of American Arbitration and The Smit-Carbonneau Guides to International Commercial Arbitration.

Affiliated Penn State faculty include William E. Butler, John Edward Fowler professor of law and member of the Russia International Court of Commercial Arbitration; Tiyanjana Maluwa, H. Laddie and Linda P. Montague professor of law; Philip J. McConnaughay, dean and Donald J. Farage professor of law; and Panagiotis Takis Tridimas, professor of law and Sir John Lubbock professor of banking law at Queen Mary College, University of London.

The institute's advisory board includes John J. Barcelo III, the William Nelson Cromwell professor of international and comparative law at Cornell Law School; Frederic Bachand, professor of law at McGill University Faculty of Law; George A. Bermann, Jean Monnet professor of EU law and the Walter Gellhorn professor of law at Columbia University School of Law; Christopher Drahozal, professor of law at the University of Kansas School of Law; Emmanuel Gaillard, professor of law at the University of Paris-XII and managing partner of Shearman & Sterling LLP, Paris; Loukas Mistelis, recently chaired professor of law and Clive M. Schmittoff reader in international commercial law at Queen Mary College, University of London; William W. Park, R. Gordon Butler professor of international law at Boston University School of Law; and Catherine Rogers, Richard C. Cadwallader associate professor of law at the Paul M. Herbert Law Center of Louisiana State University.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated July 22, 2015