Cycling Team sweeps championship

October 11, 2005

The Penn State Cycling Team took first place in the 2005 National Collegiate Cycling Association Track National Championships, held Sept. 29 to Oct. 1 in Northbrook, Ill. Penn State cyclists Bobby Lea and Sarah Uhl successfully defended their team, men's and women's omnium titles during the final day of competition. Lea and Uhl earned a combined seven national championships for Penn State. Mike Freidman won the men's point race with 69 points -- 14 points ahead of teammate Lea, who was the defending champion. Uhl and Erica Allar took first in the women's team sprint race. In addition, team members Lea, Freidman, Lou Devlin and Andy Munas won the team pursuit final in a time of 4:44.2.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated March 19, 2009