Penn Staters earn two of three Juran Fellowships

June 24, 2008

Mineeapolis — The Joseph M. Juran Center for Leadership in Quality at the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management has announced the 2008 Juran Fellows, which include two Penn State doctoral students.

Each year, the Joseph M. Juran Center selects and honors doctoral candidates whose research shows the most promise in broadening and fueling thinking and practices in the area of quality-related research in their chosen fields. Joseph Juran is credited with being the architect of quality. His philosophy is based around quality principles, including systemic improvement, systems thinking, prevention, organizational learning and strong leadership.

Three Juran Fellows were selected this year from among 22 applicants. The review panel consisted of 43 faculty and business leaders in quality who evaluated the research applications based on their importance in advancing knowledge of quality, their potential impact on society and several other criteria. The Juran Fellows receive $5,000 awards to expand their quality research and its applications upon graduation.

The 2008 Juran Fellows winners are:

-- Shaunna Barnhart, Department of Geography, Penn State
Promoting sustainable community initiatives: Applying quality principles to community forestry and biogas promotion in Nepal

-- Amy Stott, Health Policy and Administration, Penn State
Improving long-term care management practices and direct care worker organizational commitment

-- Deborah Mullen, Health Services Research and Policy Administration, University of Minnesota
Moral exemplars, outpatient medical clinic climate, temporal affect and patient care errors

"The Juran Fellowship Award… is a significant step toward a quality-related research career in health care for me," Stott said. "I am grateful and honored to receive this prestigious award.”

Penn State Provost Rodney Erickson is a member of the Executive Advisory Board of the Joseph M. Juran Center for Leadership in Quality, and his office provides funds to support the Juran Fellows Program.

Penn State also had two members of the review team: Ann Dodd, assistant dean for strategic initiatives in the College of Agricultural Sciences and a former Juran Fellow; and Harriet Nembhard, associate professor and Bashore Career Professor in the College of Engineering.

For information, contact the Office of Planning and Institutional Assessment at (814) 863-8721 or

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated November 23, 2010