Penn State trustees re-elect officers

January 23, 2009

University Park, Pa. — James S. Broadhurst, chairman of Eat'n Park Hospitality Group Inc., was re-elected chair of Penn State's Board of Trustees FrIday (Jan. 23). Steve A. Garban was re-elected vice-chair.

Broadhurst was first appointed to the Board of Trustees in 1998 to fill an unexpired term as a business and industry trustee, and was elected for successive terms. He served as vice chair of the board from 2004-2006; he was elected chair in 2007 and re-elected in 2008.

Broadhurst earned a baccalaureate degree from Penn State in 1965, where he was a member of Phi Kappa Sigma, and received the Alumni Fellow Award from Penn State's College of Health and Human Development in 1994 and a Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1997. He also holds an M.B.A. from the University of Pittsburgh.

Broadhurst joined Eat'n Park as executive vice president and treasurer in 1973 following a seven-year career with Pittsburgh National Bank in commercial banking. He was elected president of Eat'n Park Hospitality Group in 1975 and nine years later became chairman and chief executive officer of the company, which today encompasses three integrated business divisions: Eat'n Park Restaurants, Parkhurst Dining Services and CURA Hospitality.

He is actively involved in the Pittsburgh community, serving on numerous boards and committees. In addition, he chaired A Grand Destiny: The Penn State Campaign, a record-setting capital campaign completed in 2002 after raising nearly $1.4 billion over seven years to strengthen academic programs and broaden the University's service to the commonwealth.

Garban is the senior vice president of finance and operations/treasurer emeritus of Penn State. He currently serves as a director of Metropolitan Life Series Fund in New York; State Street Research and Management Mutual Funds in Boston; and on The Milton S. Hershey Medical Center Board of Directors.

His 33-year career at the University saw him rise to increasingly responsible positions. He was an officer the last 22 years of his career, 10 as controller and 12 as senior vice president/treasurer. He oversaw Penn State's nationally recognized athletic program, and its entrance into the Big Ten.

He was instrumental in the development of The Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, The Nittany Lion Inn, the Bryce Jordan Center and the Penn State Research Park and currently is a member of The Milton S. Hershey Medical Center Campaign Committee.

Garban served as treasurer and on the board of The Pennsylvania College of Technology, The Pennsylvania Research Corp., The Corporation for Penn State and the College Football Association. He is past president of the Smeal College of Business Alumni Society, the Lion's Paw Alumni Association, and the Quarterback Club.

He received the John E. Wilkinson Award for Administrative Excellence in 1993, named a Distinguished Alumnus in 1995, and received the Lion's Paw Award in 2008.

A 1959 graduate of Penn State with a bachelor of science degree in business, he was captain of the football team and vice president of student government. He was a member of Varsity S Club, Theta Kappa Phi Fraternity and several honor societies including Lion's Paw and Parmi Nous.

Garban was elected to the Board of Trustees by the alumni for a three-year term beginning July 1998, and has been re-elected for succeeding terms. He was elected as vice chair of the board in 2007 and re-elected in 2008.

Several other incumbent officers of the Board of Trustees were re-elected for additional terms: Paula R. Ammerman, associate secretary; Carolyn A. Dolbin, Kimberly J. Belcher and Wendy L. Peck, assistant secretaries; Gary C. Schultz, treasurer, ending June 30, 2009; Albert G. Horvath, treasurer, effective July 1, 2009; and Albert G. Horvath (ending June 30, 2009), Deborah M. Meder and Susan J. Wiedemer, assistant treasurers. In accordance with the bylaws of the University, President Graham B. Spanier serves as ex officio secretary of the board.

The Board also named the following to the Executive Committee: Marianne E. Alexander, Cynthia A. Baldwin, Broadhurst, Garban, Samuel E. Hayes Jr., George T. Henning Jr., David M. Joyner, Edward P. Junker III, Spanier, Linda B. Strumpf and Paul V. Suhey.

In addition, the Board finalized dates for its 2010 meetings and approved May 14, 2009, as the date for the delegate election of agricultural trustees, and for counting ballots in the alumni election, and also May 15 as the date for the election of business and industry trustees. Dates for future Board of Trustees meetings are posted online at

  • James S. Broadhurst

    IMAGE: Annemarie Mountz

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated November 18, 2010