Shorts get tall honors

February 23, 2009

Penn State Altoona's recent production of Shorts, featuring three student-produced one-act plays, received praise and several honors from The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. Performers Patrick Clark and Matthew Eberhardt received nominations for the Irene Ryan National Acting Scholarship. Andrea Devine was selected as an alternate for the scholarship.

The following students received certificates of merit for their contributions to the production: Kate Caverno (lighting design), Jesse DeLozier (stage managing), Mallorie Hallsall (playwriting), Zak Henderson (sound technician), Matthew Hertzog (set design), Marina Johnson (directing, sound design, and lighting design), Sushant Matten (sound design/operation), Olivia Parry (directing and sound design) and Brittany Thaler (Master Electrician and Light Board Operator).

Shorts was the first production at Penn State Altoona to be produced completely by students. Students throughout the fall 2008 and early spring 2009 semesters wrote plays, casted and rehearsed the plays and designed set, costumes, lights and sound with the help of Penn State Altoona's theatre faculty.


(Media Contacts)

Last Updated March 19, 2009