IST Graduate Symposium winners announced

February 24, 2009

College of Information Sciences and Technology (IST) graduate students and faculty were recently honored with “Best Paper” awards at the 2009 Graduate Symposium. The winners were:

Session 1, Information Retrieval and Sensemaking — “Collaboration Over Time: Characterizing and Modeling Network Evolution” Authors: Jian Huang, Ziming Zhuang, Jia Li and Lee Giles.

Session 2, Perception and Communication — “Effects of a Trend” The Influence of User Comments on Readers’ Perceptions of Online Newspapers” Authors: Erin Ash, Daniel Halpern and Kirstie Hettinga.

Session 3, Organization and IT — “Supporting Informational Communication at the Workplace” Authors: Dejin Zhao and Mary Beth Rosson.

Session 4, Use of CSCW Systems — “Predicting Quality Tags: A Rational Model” Authors: Shaoke Zhang, Umer Farooq, and John Carroll.

Session 5: Social Development in IT — “A Developmental Learning Community for Women in Computing and Information Science” Authors: Hansa Sinha, Dejin Zhao, Mary Beth Rosson, John Carroll, Craig Ganoe and Jan Mahar

Session 6: Social Network and Community — “Web Traveler Policies for Images Published on Social Networks” Authors: Smitha Sundareswaran and Anna C. Squicciarini.

Additionally, Andrew Kegerise and Chenjerai Kumanyika won “Best Poster” for their submission on “The Interactive Narrative Effects on Enjoyment and Presence in Video Games.”

Last Updated March 19, 2009