Students, faculty, staff recognized for outstanding achievements

April 27, 2009

Pride is the name of the game at Penn State University, and the Brandywine campus was overwhelmed with a sense of Penn State Pride on April 15 as it recognized individuals from the campus for their outstanding work inside and outside of the classroom at the Spring 2009 Academics Awards Ceremony.

The day kicked off at 4 p.m. as students who have engaged in undergraduate research throughout the year showed off their research projects in the gymnasium during EURECA (Exposition of Undergraduate Research Enterprise and Creative Accomplishment). The program is designed so students can present an abstract of their work in the form of posters, computer presentations and videos in a professional setting, giving them practical experience for real-world situations.

Immediately following EURECA, members and friends of the campus joined for another celebration of achievement. The campus honored students Dana Albright, Christina Furia and Adrienne Showalter as new inductees into international English honor society Sigma Tau Delta, and Albright, Taunja Belgrave, Jenny Evans, Sarah Lane, Showalter and Lillian Vecchio into the Phi Kappa Phi honorary society.

In addition to the almost 200 students recognized for their academic achievement at the event, the campus also recognized the recipients of the 2009 President’s Freshman Award: Rebecca Brophy, Meredith Klein and David Michael Serpentine. Student Michael Casassa was honored as the winner of the Randall Stout Memorial Award, which honors a senior who has demonstrated superior academic performance and outstanding participation in the bachelor of science in business program at the campus.

Representing the campus’ outstanding faculty, Seongeun Kim, associate professor of human development and family studies, was named the 2009 Distinguished Teacher, an award that recognizes a full-time faculty member who provides distinguished teaching while providing encouragement and incentive for teaching excellence and contributions to the Penn State Brandywine campus community.

As a campus dedicated to undergraduate research, it was only fitting that the campus created a new award this year to recognize just that. Associate professor of Earth and Mineral Science Laura Guertin and student Lindley Jones received the Undergraduate Faculty and Student Research Award, respectively, for completing serious, high-quality research requiring critical thinking, analysis and creativity.

Gordon Crompton, senior microcomputer system consultant in the Information Technology Services Department, received the George W. Franz Advising and Mentoring Award for his excellence in helping others recognize and achieve their potential.

And to end the night on a continued high note, the campus recognized Patricia Hillen, instructor in English, as winner of the Madlyn Hanes Faculty Award, created in 1998 to recognize a full-time faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to the campus community through exceptional achievement in teaching, research, scholarship, creative activity or service.


(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 27, 2009