Mechanical Engineering students sweep ASME service awards

August 24, 2009

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) gave its 2009 Charles T. Main Award to two mechanical engineering students recently.

Brianne Wilburne was given the first-place gold medal and Eduardo Jose Barrientos was given the second-place silver medal. Established in 1919, the annual award recognizes student ASME members for their public service. Only two awards are given each year.

Along with the medal, Wilburne will receive a $3,000 prize, a certificate and a travel expense supplement to attend an ASME meeting presentation. Barrientos will receive a $2,000 award, along with a certificate and travel expense supplement to a meeting presentation.

The Charles T. Main Award is named in honor of the group's 37th president. In 1971, the award was combined with the Arthur L. Williston Medal contest to encourage student members and young engineers to become active in public service. A second-place award was added in 1983.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated January 09, 2015