Nominations sought for Faculty and Staff Achievement Awards

September 22, 2009

Nominations for the 2010 Faculty and Staff Achievement Awards are being sought from University and local community organizations and individuals. Nominations may be submitted online or on a standardized form downloaded from the Office of Human Resources’ Web site. If utilizing the online process, nominators and individuals providing support documentation have the choice of completing online forms or uploading their own documents. Visit the Office of Human Resources’ Web site at and follow the links in the "current employee information/resources" section to access both the online and hard-copy nomination forms. The nomination form is also available by contacting the Office of Human Resources at 814-863-6188. Nominations and supporting documents should be submitted by Friday, Dec. 4, either online, by mail to Billie S. Willits, 505 James M. Elliott Building, or faxed to 814-863-3461. Supporting documentation that accompanies the nominations should be as brief as possible.

The Faculty and Staff Achievement Awards include:

-- The Barash Award for Human Services was created in 1975 by the family of the late Sy Barash. The award, which carries a stipend of $1,000, is awarded to a full-time member of the faculty, staff or student body at Penn State's University Park campus who has contributed most, apart from regular duties, to human causes, public service activities and organizations, or the welfare of fellow humans. These human service activities must have been performed in University Park, the Borough of State College or in College, Patton, Harris or Ferguson townships.

-- The McKay Donkin Award was established in 1969 in honor of the late McKay Donkin, who served as Vice President for Finance and Treasurer of the University from 1957 to 1968. The award, which consists of a $500 stipend, is presented to a full-time faculty or staff member, or retiree who has contributed most to the “economic, physical, mental, or social welfare of the faculty” of the University. The contributions of the nominee should be for duties for services which are above and beyond his or her regularly assigned duties.

-- The Administrative Excellence Award, which carries a stipend of $1,000, is made to a member of the staff of the University whose performance methods and achievements exemplify administrative excellence. The award is funded by a gift from Kenneth E. and Mary K. Warrick. Important criteria considered in the evaluation of nominees include total experience in an administrative position, accumulative levels of responsibility and authority, years of service at the University and in present position, and impact on own organization and on the University in general.

-- The Staff Excellence Award, established in 1983, carries a stipend of $500. The award is made annually to a member of the staff of the University who has demonstrated and practiced the philosophy of continuous quality improvement, team spirit, managerial excellence, and provided leadership in establishing a quality service orientation of the performance of assigned duties. To be eligible for the award, full-time staff must have at least five years of University service.

-- The Support Staff Award, established in 1997, carries a stipend of $1000. This award recognizes the overall high quality performance of a non-exempt member of the support staff in fulfilling the mission of the University and of his/her college or administrative unit. The award will be given to a full-time non-exempt member of the support staff in recognition of dedicated focus to customer service, commitment to quality improvement, outstanding skills and abilities, team work, and professionalism. To be eligible for this award, a non-exempt staff member must have at least five years of activity University service.

-- The Dr. James Robinson Equal Opportunity Award, sponsored by the Penn State Alumni Association, and given in honor of James Robinson, 1949, a devoted alumnus and former Alumni Council member, is designed to recognize a University faculty or staff member who promotes the concept of equal opportunity through affirmative action and/or contributing to enhancing the educational environment of the University through improving cross-cultural understanding. The award, consisting of a $1,500 stipend, is given in recognition of meeting one or more of the following criteria: demonstrated commitment to the spirit of equal opportunity through affirmative action, demonstrated leadership in the elimination of discrimination through encouragement of understanding between persons of different races, sexes, age groups, sexual orientation, ethnicity, or religious heritage; demonstrated commitment to meeting the special needs of students, faculty, or staff who are members of traditionally underrepresented groups. To be eligible for this award, full-time faculty and staff must have at least two years of active University service.

Billie S. Willits, associate vice president for Human Resources, is chairing a general committee to solicit nomination for the 2010 Awards. Carol Griffin, Administrative Support Coordinator, Office of Human Resources, provides staff support to the committee. Six subcommittees will screen nominations and develop recommendations for the respective awards. Early submission of nomination forms is encouraged.

Last Updated September 23, 2010