Faculty, alumnus honored

September 17, 2010

University Park, Pa. -- Three faculty members and one alumnus were honored in the lobby of Old Main on Sept. 16 in a special awards ceremony. At the ceremony, Judith Bond, Donald Hambrick and Thomas Mallouk became the newest Evan Pugh professors, joining a list of only 59 others thus recognized since the title's inception in 1960. Evan Pugh Professorships are the highest honor the University bestows on its faculty. Also at the ceremony, Jigmi Y. Thinley, prime minister of Bhutan, was honored as a Distinguished Alumnus. Thinley is the only Penn State graduate to have become his nation's head-of-government.

Bond joined the Penn State faculty in 1992. Her research has focused on the structure, function and regulation of proteolytic enzymes called meprins. Her work on wasting diabetic mice led to the discovery of meprins, a subunit of which has recently been identified as a susceptibility factor for inflammatory bowel disease. Visit http://www.fred.psu.edu/ds/retrieve/fred/investigator/jsb13 to learn more about Judith Bond and her work.

Hambrick came to Penn State in 2002. He specializes in the area of top management and is one of its most frequently cited authors. His current research focuses on executive psychology, top management team dynamics, and the history and evolution of the field of strategic management. In addition, he teaches courses on strategy implementation and organizational change. Visit http://research.smeal.psu.edu/faculty-member/hambrick-donald for more information about Donald Hambrick and his work.

Mallouk has been at Penn State since 1993. He received his doctorate in 1983 from the University of California, Berkeley. His research is aimed at studying the chemistry of nanoscale inorganic materials. Visit http://www.chem.psu.edu/directory/tem5 to learn more about Mallouck's scholarly work.

Thinley received his master's degree in public administration from Penn State in 1976 and returned to Bhutan to serve in the Ministry of Development. Later, he served as ambassador and permanent representative of Bhutan to the United Nations. In 1998 when the king of Bhutan decided to relinquish power to an elected council of ministers with a rotational head-of-government system, he became the first head of government and minister of foreign affairs. On March 24, 2008, Thinley was elected as prime minister of Bhutan, the world's newest democracy.

The Evan Pugh Professorships, named for Penn State's first president, are awarded to faculty members who are nationally or internationally acknowledged leaders in their fields of research or creative activity; have demonstrated significant leadership in raising the standards of the University with respect to teaching, research or creativity, and service; and demonstrate excellent teaching skills with undergraduate and graduate students who have subsequently achieved distinction in their field.

Distinguished Alumni Awards were authorized by the Board of Trustees in 1951. The principal purpose is to recognize and salute the achievements of outstanding alumni "whose personal life, professional achievements and community service exemplify the objectives of The Pennsylvania State University." It is the University's highest award for an individual.

For photos from the ceremony, visit http://live.psu.edu/stilllife/2321 online.

  • Steve A. Garban, chairman of the Penn State Board of Trustees, second from left, congratulates Jigmi Y. Thinley, prime minister of the Royal Government of Bhutan, on being named a Penn State Distinguished Alumnus.

    IMAGE: Annemarie Mountz
Last Updated November 18, 2010