Penn State to award four honorary degrees at upcoming ceremonies

September 17, 2010

University Park, Pa. -- CEO Norman R. Augustine, labor economist Ronald Ehrenberg, CNN anchor Wolf Blitzer, and journalist and legal scholar Linda Greenhouse will receive honorary doctorates from Penn State at upcoming commencement ceremonies, Penn State’s Board of Trustees announced today (Sept. 17).

Augustine, the retired chairman and CEO of Lockheed Martin Corp., will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Science. A former member of the President’s Council of Advisers on Science and Technology and a five-time winner of the Department of Defense’s Distinguished Service Medal, Augustine also has served on the faculty of Princeton University. He is the author of The Defense Revolution and Shakespeare in Charge.

Trustees also agreed to award an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters to Ronald Ehrenberg and Wolf Blitzer.

Ehrenberg directs the Higher Education Research Institute at Cornell, where he has served on the faculty for 35 years. In 2005, he was named a Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellow, Cornell’s highest award for undergraduate teaching. He is the founding editor of the Journal of Human Resources and has authored more than 145 papers and a noted textbook, Modern Labor Economics: Theory and Public Policy.

In addition, Ehrenberg has worked with faculty, administrative groups and trustees at numerous institutes of higher education on tuition and financial aid policies, faculty compensation policies, faculty retirement policies and other budgetary and planning issues.

Blitzer anchors CNN’s The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer and is known for his in-depth reporting on international news. He has covered American elections, the Middle East, the fall of the Soviet Union and the Iraq War, as well as other major stories since he began his career with Reuters in 1972. His work has won a number of prestigious awards, including two Emmys. Blitzer also has authored two books. He joined CNN in 1990.

Greenhouse, who has covered the Supreme Court for The New York Times and is one of only two non-lawyer honorary members of the American Law Institute, will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Law. Greenhouse currently serves at Yale Law School as a senior research scholar in law, the Knight Distinguished Journalist in Residence and as the Joseph Goldstein Lecturer in Law. She also writes a biweekly column on law.

She has been awarded the American Law Institute’s Henry J. Friendly Medal and the Council of the American Philosophical Society’s Henry Allen Moe Prize for writing in the humanities and jurisprudence.

  • Norman R. Augustine, retired chairman and CEO of Lockheed Martin Corp., will receive an honorary doctorate of science at Penn State's morning commencement on Saturday, Dec. 18, 2010. Wolf Blitzer, Ronald Ehrenberg and Linda Greenhouse will receive honorary degrees from Penn State at future commencement dates.

    IMAGE: Penn State

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated March 21, 2011