Penn State Board of Trustees elects executive committee

University Park, Pa. -- Following a recommendation by its nominating committee, the Penn State Board of Trustees elected nine members -- James S. Broadhurst; Michael DiBerardinis; Kenneth C. Frazier; Edward R. Hintz, Jr.; Rodney P. Hughes; David M. Joyner; Keith E. Masser; Linda B. Strumpf and John P. Surma -- to the executive committee for 2011.

Penn State President Graham B. Spanier and Board of Trustees President Steve A. Garban serve as ex officio members of the committee.

An executive committee of seven to 11 board members is elected every January and serves for one year.


At its recent meeting, the University’s Board of Trustees set the following dates and places for meetings in 2012:

  • -- Friday, Jan. 20
  • -- Thursday-Friday, March 15-16 at Hershey
  • -- Friday, May 4
  • -- Thursday and Friday, July 12-13 at Penn State Worthington Scranton
  • -- Friday, Sept. 14
  • -- Friday, Nov. 16

Unless otherwise specified, all meetings will take place at University Park.

The trustees also set May 12 of this year for the election of agricultural trustees and for counting ballots in the alumni election and May 13 as the date for the election of business and industry trustees.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated January 21, 2011