Penn State to award three honorary degrees at spring commencement

April 22, 2011

University Park, Pa. --  CNN anchor Wolf Blitzer, labor economist Ronald Ehrenberg and journalist and legal scholar Linda Greenhouse will receive honorary doctorates from Penn State at spring 2011 commencement ceremonies, as approved by Penn State’s Board of Trustees during its meeting on Sept. 17, 2010.

Blitzer will receive an honorary doctorate of humane letters at the University's College of Communications commencement at noon on Saturday, May 14, at the Bryce Jordan Center. Blitzer anchors CNN’s "The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer" and is known for his in-depth reporting on international news. He has covered American elections, the Middle East, the fall of the Soviet Union and the Iraq War, as well as other major stories since he began his career with Reuters in 1972. His work has won a number of prestigious awards, including two Emmys. Blitzer also has authored two books. He joined CNN in 1990.

Ehrenberg, the Irving M. Ives Professor of Industrial and Labor Relations and Economics at Cornell University, will receive an honorary doctorate of humane letters during Penn State's College of Education commencement at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, May 15, at the Bryce Jordan Center. Ehrenberg directs the Higher Education Research Institute at Cornell, where he has served on the faculty for 35 years. In 2005, he was named a Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellow, Cornell’s highest award for undergraduate teaching. He is the founding editor of the Journal of Human Resources and has authored more than 145 papers and a noted textbook, "Modern Labor Economics: Theory and Public Policy." In addition, Ehrenberg has worked with faculty, administrative groups and trustees at numerous institutes of higher education on tuition and financial aid policies, faculty compensation policies, faculty retirement policies and other budgetary and planning issues.

Greenhouse, the Knight Distinguished Journalist in Residence and Joseph M. Goldstein Lecturer in Law at Yale Law School, will receive an honorary doctorate of law degree during the Penn State Dickinson School of Law commencement at 2 p.m. Saturday, May 21, in Eisenhower Auditorium. Greenhouse has covered the Supreme Court for The New York Times and is one of only two non-lawyer honorary members of the American Law Institute. She has been awarded the American Law Institute’s Henry J. Friendly Medal and the Council of the American Philosophical Society’s Henry Allen Moe Prize for writing in the humanities and jurisprudence. She also writes a biweekly column on law.


  • Wolf Blitzer, Ronald Ehrenberg and Linda Greenhouse will receive Penn State honorary degrees during the University's spring 2011 commencement events.

    IMAGE: Photos provided

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated July 22, 2015