College administrators lead national theatre organizations

May 05, 2011

University Park, Pa. -- Dan Carter, director of Penn State’s School of Theatre and producing artistic director of Penn State Centre Stage, recently assumed the presidency of the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST), after serving as vice president for three years. NAST is the accrediting body for theatre programs and is a member of the Council of Arts Accrediting Associations, which also includes the national associations of schools of music, art and design, and dance. Carter previously served 10 years on NAST's Commission for Accreditation, including three years as chair.

College of Arts and Architecture administrators are currently serving in leadership roles for the three most significant theatre organizations. In addition to Carter, Lea Asbell-Swanger, assistant director of the Center for the Performing Arts, is president of the United States Institute for Theatre Technology; Dr. William Doan, associate dean for administration, research and graduate studies, is president-elect of the Association of Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) and will assume the presidency in August 2011; and Dean Barbara O. Korner is co-director of ATHE’s Leadership Institute. In addition to Carter's role with NAST, he is president of the National Theatre Conference, a theatrical think tank created in 1931.

Last Updated January 09, 2015