Penn State Hershey library recognizes outstanding contributors

November 08, 2011

The George T. Harrell Health Sciences Library at Penn State Hershey Medical Center and Penn State College of Medicine has established a new annual program, the Harrell Health Sciences READ Poster Recognition Award. The program is designed to recognize individuals who have been strong supporters of the library and to promote learning and scholarship among students, faculty and staff.

A committee of Penn State Hershey faculty and staff has worked for the past several months to establish this program and select honorees. Posters of each honoree holding a book of their choice will be displayed in the library over the next year. The following individuals are being honored:

-- Harold L. Paz, M.D., M.S., chief executive officer, senior vice president, and dean
-- C. Max Lang, M.D., professor emeritus and founding chair, Department of Comparative Medicine
-- Tom Stapleton, project manager, Facilities Planning and Construction
-- Alphonse Leure-duPree, M.D., professor emeritus, Department of Neural and Behavioral Sciences
-- Victoria Schirm, Ph.D., director, Nursing Research, Department of Nursing
-- Graham Jeffries, M.D., professor emeritus and founding chair, Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine

There will be a small reception at 4 p.m. on Nov. 14 in the library to unveil the posters and recognize the six individuals being honored. Light refreshments will be served.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated November 14, 2011