Maya Hayes named Hermann Trophy semifinalist

December 09, 2011

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- For the third straight year, Penn State women's soccer has a student-athlete on the Hermann Trophy Semifinalist list as Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) garnered attention from the Missouri Athletic Club late Sunday night. Hayes awaits her possible inclusion as a finalist, which will be announced Dec. 9.

The nation's leading scorer, Hayes set new records all season long by scoring 31 goals and 70 points. In the process of helping to lead Penn State to its first NCAA Sweet Sixteen appearance since 2007, she set a new Penn State and Big Ten single-season points record, while setting almost every Penn State sophomore offensive record for goals, points and game-winning goals.

For her outstanding season, Hayes was named the Big Ten's Forward of the Year and an All-Big Ten honoree, while receiving numerous accolades throughout the season. During the course of the season, Hayes captured 18 different weekly awards in addition to her year-end laurels.

Hayes, who was named a third-team Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American last week, is Penn State's 12th representative to earn Hermann Trophy semifinalist status. Katie Schoepfer and current Nittany Lion Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.) both achieve the honor in 2009 and 2010, respectively. The last Penn State student-athlete to make the finals of the award was Tiffany Weimer in 2005, the second trip she made to St. Louis as runner-up. Christie Welsh is Penn State's only Hermann Trophy winner in 2001.

2011 -- Maya Hayes, Semifinalist
2010 -- Christine Nairn, Semifinalist
2009 -- Katie Schoepfer, Semifinalist
2006 -- Ali Krieger, Semifinalist
2005 -- Tiffany Weimer, Runner-up; Erin McLeod, Semifinalist
2004 -- Tiffany Weimer, Runner-up
2003 -- Joanna Lohman, Runner-up; Tiffany Weimer, Semifinalist
2002 -- Christie Welsh, Runner-up
2001 -- Christie Welsh, Winner
2000 -- Christie Welsh, Runner-up



(Media Contacts)

Last Updated December 09, 2011