Kaut, Mackrides named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

February 16, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Senior attackman Matthew Mackrides (Newtown Square) and sophomore goalkeeper Austin Kaut (Morton) have been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, it was announced Wednesday (Feb. 15).

The Tewaaraton Award is presented to the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse players by the University Club of Washington, D.C. Kaut and Mackrides, who are two of seven representatives from the Colonial Athletic Association, are the first Nittany Lions to appear on the award's watch list since Drew Adams ('09) in 2009. In total, 73 men's lacrosse student-athletes appear on the list first's installment.

During a sensational rookie campaign in 2011, Kaut earned USILA Honorable Mention All-America, CAA Rookie of the Year, All-CAA First Team and CAA All-Rookie Team honors. The Morton, Pa., native, who started all 14 games for the Nittany Lions, led the NCAA in save percentage (.635) and ranked 10th in goals-against average (7.90) as Penn State qualified for its first-ever CAA tournament.

A senior tri-captain, Mackrides ranks among the top-15 active players in the nation in career goals (73) and has collected 104 points in 40 games played. A two-time All-CAA First Team honoree (2010, 2011), Mackrides led the team in goals in both 2010 and 2011. As a sophomore, he led the team in points (44) and added a team-best 13 assists as a freshman. The Newtown Square, Pa., native was tabbed a Lowe's Senior CLASS Award candidate Wednesday.

In addition, both Kaut and Mackrides were tabbed Inside Lacrosse Honorable Mention All-Americans and Preseason All-CAA members prior to the 2012 season. Kaut was also tabbed Preseason CAA Co-Player of the Year.

The award selection committee will add student-athletes to the watch list as the season progresses before the 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees are announced in late April. The five finalists will be released in mid-May before the Tewaaraton Award recipient is unveiled in Washington, D.C., Thursday, May 31.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated February 17, 2012