Six engineers win awards at 27th Annual Graduate Exhibition

April 17, 2012

Six engineering graduate students were recognized and received awards for their presentations in the 27th Annual Graduate Exhibition, held March 23 and 25 on Penn State's University Park campus.

Mark Williams of agricultural and biological engineering won first place in the engineering category for his project, "Using spatial analysis to assess nitrate sources in two headwater agricultural streams in Central Pennsylvania."

Two students were awarded second place in the engineering category: Hosein Foroutan of mechanical engineering for "Analysis and Prevention of Vortex Rope Formation in the Draft Tube Cone of a Hydraulic Turbine" and Susan Lynn Jankiewicz of industrial engineering for "Effects of Added Weight and Girth on Lifting Capacity."

Four students took fourth place in engineering: Robert John Davis of environmental engineering for "Bench-scaled Stacked Microbial Desalination Cell with different cathode diffusion layer compositions for seawater desalination;" Keegan McCoy of electrical engineering for "Characterizing Modal Noise in Optical Fibers Coupled to the Pathfinder High-Resolution NIR Spectograph;" Pouria Fattahi of chemical engineering for "Conducting polymer micro and nano-spherical cups for targeted and controlled drug release;" and Jung Hyup Kim in industrial engineering for "The Effects of Situation Awareness and Metacognitive Monitoring Process in a Dynamic Control Task."

The Graduate Exhibition places special emphasis on communicating research and creative endeavor to a general audience and offers a unique opportunity for professional development by challenging graduate students to present their work in clear, comprehensible terms to people outside their fields of study.

A total of 46 students were recognized from across the University. More than 250 graduate students participated in the competition, which included performances and research and visual arts presentations.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 17, 2012