Harrisburg men's tennis advances to NCAA Tournament; coach honored

May 07, 2012

Penn State Harrisburg’s men’s tennis team won its second straight North Atlantic Conference (NAC) championship match on Saturday, May 5, earning the league’s first-ever automatic NCAA tournament bid. The Lions, winners of the league’s West Division, defeated East Division champions Colby Sawyer 6-3 to win the conference crown and secure the tennis program’s first NCAA tournament berth.

Penn State Harrisburg clinched its second straight North Atlantic Conference (NAC) West Division championship after defeating Penn State Berks on Saturday, April 28.

With all six of her tournament-bound players earning all-conference honors, Head Coach Becky Cecere was voted the league’s Coach of the Year by her peers for the 2011-12 season. Junior Josh Cartmill (Carlisle, Pa./Cumberland Valley) was named NEAC Player of the Year and Vishnu Gopalakrishnan (Ashburn, Va./Briar Woods) earned Co-Rookie of the Year honors.

The team will face Grove City College in the first round of the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championship Tournament on Friday, May 11, at Johns Hopkins University.

  • Penn State Harrisburg's championship men's tennis team and Head Coach Becky Cecere.

    IMAGE: Candice Poiss Murray

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 08, 2012