Honors thesis award winner and finalists announced

The Penn State University Libraries has announced the results of the inaugural 2012 Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award. Top winner of the $1,000 award is Keegan S. McCoy, biology, for his thesis, "Characterizing Properties of Optical Fibers and Fiber Couplings."


Finalists for 2102 include:

-- Sarah E. Layton, geography, for "Understanding a Mother's Attempt to Reduce the Risk of HIV/AIDS Transmission in the Caprivi Region, Nambia;"

-- Ce Zhang, biology, for "Promoting Clean Hands Among Uganda's Children: A School-Based Intervention Using Tippy-Taps"; and

-- Carly Diana Comer, biology, for "Age- and Sex-Specific Effects of Tetrahydrobiopterin Supplementation on Peripheral Artery Stiffness."


The annual competition includes a review of the submitted theses by a faculty jury and a public oral presentation by the students chosen as finalists.


Details for the 2013 Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award are available at www.libraries.psu.edu/psul/admin/thesisaward.html


For more information, contact Deborah Richner at 814-863-5446 or dgr4@psu.edu


Last Updated October 01, 2012