American Mathematical Society elects new Fellows from Penn State

November 05, 2012

Mathematical scientists from around the world have been named to the inaugural class of the Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), an association of professional mathematicians dedicated to mathematical research and scholarship. This inaugural class of 1,119 Fellows represents more than 600 institutions and includes many professors from Penn State University. The Fellows of the AMS designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics.

The Penn State mathematicians who have been selected as members of the inaugural class of the American Mathematical Society Fellows are:
-- George Andrews, Evan Pugh Professor of Mathematics
-- Steve Armentrout, professor emeritus of mathematics
-- Paul Baum, Evan Pugh Professor of Mathematics
-- Alberto Bressan, Holder of the Eberly Family Chair in Mathematics
-- Dale Brownawell, distinguished professor of mathematics
-- Edward Formanek, professor emeritus of mathematics
-- Nigel Higson, Evan Pugh Professor of Mathematics
-- Anatole Katok, Raymond N. Shibley Professor of Mathematics
-- Svetlana Katok, professor of mathematics
-- Wen Ching Winnie Li, distinguished professor of mathematics
-- Yakov Pesin, distinguished professor of mathematics
-- Donald Richards, professor of statistics
-- John Roe, professor of mathematics
-- Serge Tabachnikov, professor of mathematics
-- Robert Vaughan, professor of mathematics
-- Jinchao Xu, Francis R. and Helen M. Pentz Professor of Science

Regarding the new Fellows of the AMS program and the Society, AMS President Eric M. Friedlander said, "Recent advances in mathematics include solutions to age-old problems and key applications useful for society. The new AMS Fellows Program recognizes some of the most accomplished mathematicians -- AMS members who have contributed to our understanding of deep and important mathematical questions, to applications throughout the scientific world and to educational excellence."


Last Updated January 09, 2015