Members of Penn State Presidential Selection Council announced

November 16, 2012

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Penn State Board of Trustees Chairman Karen Peetz, upon authorization by the board, today (Nov. 16) appointed members of the Trustee Presidential Selection Council, which will oversee the search process for the next president of Penn State.

The council consists of 13** Trustees and the chair of For the Future: The Campaign for Penn State Students.

** UPDATE: Trustee William F. Oldsey was added to the Trustee Presidential Selection Council on Nov. 22, 2013. The following list reflects the committee's full, final membership.

Trustee members are:

-- Marianne E. Alexander, President Emerita, Public Leadership Education Network

-- James S. Broadhurst, Chairman, Eat’n Park Hospitality Group Inc.

-- Mark H. Dambly, President, Pennrose Properties LLC

-- Keith W. Eckel, Sole Proprietor and President, Fred W. Eckel Sons Farms Inc.

-- Kenneth C. Frazier, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Merck & Co. Inc.

-- Edward R. Hintz, Jr., President, Hintz Capital Management Inc.

-- Peter A. Khoury, Graduate Student, Penn State

-- Ira M. Lubert, Chairman and Co-Founder, Independence Capital Partners and Lubert Adler Partners LP

-- Keith E. Masser, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Sterman Masser Inc.

-- William F. Oldsey, Independent Consultant/Educational Publishing; Operating Partner, Atlas Advisors.

-- Karen B. Peetz, Vice Chairman, CEO of Financial Markets and Treasury Services, Bank of New York Mellon

-- Paul H. Silvis, Head Coach, SilcoTek

-- Linda B. Strumpf, retired Chief Investment Officer, The Helmsley Charitable Trust.

The chair of For the Future is Peter G. Tombros, former executive at Pfizer Inc. in New York and also CEO of Enzon. He currently serves as professor and executive-in-residence in Penn State's Science BS/MBA Program.

"The selection of our next president is one of the most important decisions we, as a university, will make,” said Peetz. "Consequently, the Presidential Selection Council will rely heavily on all parts of our community and constituent representatives, including faculty, academic and administrative leadership, staff, students and alumni as members of the University Presidential Search and Screen Committee."

Members of the University Presidential Search and Screen Committee are expected to be named by early January.

Current University President Rodney Erickson announced he would retire on June 30, 2014, or before, if the search is successfully concluded before that date.

For more information on ongoing efforts and actions of the University, visit online. For more information on the Board of Trustees, including agendas, meeting minutes and other information, visit

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated February 17, 2014