Penn State Fayette faculty, staff receive Excellence Awards

December 17, 2012



Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus, recognized outstanding achievement and service among its faculty and staff at a special awards banquet recently. Awards were presented in six categories after nominations were considered by the various awards committees this fall.

The excellence awards for 2012 include:

The Scholarly Excellence Award — presented to Jo Ann Jankoski, assistant professor of human development and family studies, for her accomplished level of scholarship in recent years, including publishing five articles and two book chapters related to her field of study, and for receiving numerous awards for professional excellence and civic endeavors.

Teaching Excellence Award — presented to Charles “Gib” Prettyman, associate professor of English, for his expertise in creating courses and instructional materials across disciplines, as well as for his ability to instruct maturing thinkers and writers, and mentoring students to read, think and write critically.

CE (Continuing Education) Teaching Excellence Award — presented to Charlotte Lewis, CE and adjunct instructor, for her dedication to students and excellence in the classroom.

Public Service Excellence Award — presented to John Rapano, instructor of human development and family studies, for his volunteerism and leadership in the community to improve the delivery of health and human services in Fayette County.

Administrative Excellence Award — presented to Chad Long, director of student life, who received this award for his outstanding work with students as a mentor who inspires them to succeed beyond their expectations and become leaders.

Support Services Excellence — presented to William V. “Bill” Hager Jr., webmaster and marketing/communications assistant, for his “always willing to help” attitude, his work with students, especially international students, and his work as adviser to the Diversified Student Association.

Also honored at the awards banquet were Penn State Fayette retirees Robert Crayton and Charlotte Stotelmyer, as well as faculty and staff who reached significant years of service milestones:

Five years: Susan Brimo-Cox, Susan Crampton-Frenchik, Chris Cupplo, Gina Jones, Janice Maruniak, Jeff Medvec and Joshua Trump

Ten years: Chad Long

Fifteen years: Richard Ball, Robert Durany, Jes Hutson, Mary Ann Walters and Brad Whitsel

Twenty years: Tina Reed (2011)

Twenty-five years: Ted Mellors

Thirty years: David DiPietro, Frederick Russell Filburn and Paul Mihalko

Thirty-five years: Prem Sattsangi



  • Penn State Fayette Chancellor Francis Achampong, right, joined Penn State Fayette 2012 Excellence Award winners, from left, Chad Long, Charles “Gib” Prettyman, John Rapano, Jo Ann Jankoski and William V. “Bill” Hager Jr.

    IMAGE: Penn State

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated December 17, 2012