Law students to offer free tax help in Carlisle area

January 29, 2013

Penn State Law students are offering free tax preparation services to people with low and fixed incomes, people who have disabilities or special needs and senior citizens ages 60 or older.

Tax assistance is offered to qualified residents of Carlisle and surrounding communities through the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program sponsored by the IRS. All student volunteers are certified by the IRS and are trained to identify taxpayer eligibility for certain tax credits, including the Earned Income Tax Credit, Child Tax Credit, Dependent Care Credit and Credit for the Elderly.

From Feb. 4 through April 11, student volunteers will be available from 6 to 9 p.m. on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays to prepare and electronically file federal, state and local tax returns. The tax clinic will be closed March 4 to 8. The tax clinic encourages all interested individuals to schedule an appointment by calling 717-240-5130. 

The tax clinic is located in Room 104 of Lewis Katz Hall, 333 W. South St., Carlisle, Pa. For directions, visit the Law School’s website. Taxpayers may park in the faculty parking lot at South and College streets and should use the front entrance by the columns on College Street. An accessible entrance with an elevator is located at ground level of the building labeled Trickett Hall, to the left of the stairs and columns. Taxpayers must bring photo identification and Social Security cards for self, spouse and dependents; all tax forms, including W-2s and 1099s; any other relevant information about income and expenses; and bank routing number(s) and account number(s) for direct deposit of any tax refund due. For additional information, call 717-240-5130.

Student volunteers from the Law School have offered free tax preparation services for more than 30 years. Since 2003, student volunteers have prepared nearly 5,000 federal, state and local tax returns for taxpayers, plus their spouses and dependents, residing in Cumberland, Perry, Dauphin, York, Franklin and Adams counties.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated July 22, 2015