Former Nittany Lion Dave Robinson elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

February 04, 2013

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Former Penn State All-America end Dave Robinson has been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013. The announcement was made Feb. 2 in New Orleans, site of Super Bowl XLVII.

Robinson will become the sixth member of the Penn State Football family to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, joining Jack Ham, Franco Harris, August Michalske, Lenny Moore and Mike Munchak. Munchak, head coach of the Tennessee Titans, was Penn State’s last inductee, in 2001.

The enshrinement ceremony is Aug. 3 in Canton, Ohio.

From Mount Laurel, N.J., Robinson was a first-team All-American for the Nittany Lions in 1962 and a three-year letterwinner under coach Rip Engle. He helped Penn State to a 24-8 record from 1960-62, including wins over Oregon in the 1960 Liberty Bowl and Georgia Tech in the 1961 Gator Bowl. An offensive and defensive end, Robinson was the MVP of the 1962 Gator Bowl, despite the Nittany Lions falling to Florida, 17-7 to complete a 9-2 season. He was inducted into the Gator Bowl Hall of Fame in 1996. 

The Green Bay Packers and coach Vince Lombardi selected Robinson in the first round of the 1963 NFL Draft (14th overall selection) and he played linebacker 12 years in the NFL. He played with the Packers from 1963-72 and the Washington Redskins in 1973-74. 

Robinson was selected to the Pro Bowl three times (1966-67, 1969) and twice earned Associated Press first-team All-Pro honors (1967, 1969) during his career in Green Bay. Robinson was a starter on teams that won three consecutive NFL Championships (1965-67) and Super Bowls I and II. He was named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 1960s. He intercepted 27 passes in his 12-year career.

Robinson, who resides in Akron, Ohio, was enshrined into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame in 1997. He was inducted into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame in 1982.

Fans interested in attending attending the Aug. 3 Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony can purchase tickets at


(Media Contacts)

Last Updated February 08, 2013