Winners of the 1995 Graduate Research Exhibition

December 01, 1995

To create a more efficient artifical heart, Juan-Carlos Maymir (bioengineering) uses Laser Doppler Anemometry to check the turbulent stresses in the regurgitant jets of the mitral and aortic valves. Maymir was the first-place winner in the Engineering Sciences category. See Check the Valves.

By using fractal geometry, Kai Nielsen (horticulture) analyzes complex root structure in hopes of breeding beans with more efficient roots. Nielsen was the first-place winner in the Health and Life Sciences category. See The Fractal Path to Better Beans in this issue.

Chiral drugs often have one therapeutically valuable form while the other isomer may have undesirable side effects. Research by Julia Gavin, Maurie Garcia, and Nanlin Deng (chemistry) involves making new materials to separate left- and right-handed molecules and eliminate the interactions between them, in order to make more efficient pharmaceuticals. The three students were the first-place winners in the Physical Sciences category.

Urban African American youth worried about short life expectancy move from childhood to adulthood without taking time for adolescence. Dawn Obeidallah (human development and family studies) discusses the implications of this accelerated life course; she was one of two first-place winners in the Social and Behavorial Sciences category. See Living Fast in this issue.

Studying the wild horses on Assateague Island, Lisa Rose Ludvico (anthropology) investigates the operation of female choice in an environment characterized by male competition. Ludvico was one of two first-place winners in the Social and Behavioral Sciences category. See The Wild Mares of Assateague in this issue.

Second place winners were Norval Bard (French) for "Iconography and the Bayeux Tapestry," M. Travis DiNicola (art education) for "The Palmer Museum of Art, ONLINE," and Roberta Kessler (landscape engineering) for "Addressing Contemporary Issues in Historic Landscapes: A Case Study Focusing on Eastwood Cemetery in Lancaster, Massachusetts" in the Arts and Humanities category; Michael Bradford (chemical engineering) for "The Catalytic Reforming of Methane with Carbon Dioxide" and Deborah Sneckenberger (bioengineering) for "A Comparative Study of Cavitation on ProstheticHeart Valves" in the Engineering Sciences category (See Check the Valves in this issue). ; A. E. Renauld (veterinary science) for "Identification of in vitro Cytochrome P450 Modulators for Detecting Induction Produced by Prototype Inducers Including a Coplanar Polychlorinated Biphenyl in the Mallard Duck" and Michelle Vettese-Dadey (biochemistry, microbiology, and molecular biology) for "The Function of Acetylated Histone N-Termini in Transcription Factor Binding to Nucleosomal DNA" in the Health and Life Sciences category; Ray Hoobler (chemistry) for "Laser Controlled Chemistry: Changes in Atom-Dimer Density Resulting from Atomic Orientation" (See story on page 00) and Leena Selvaraj (materials science and engineering) for "Potential Thermal Stabilizers for Jet Fuels Above 400 Degrees C" in the Physical Sciences category; and Donna Dorough (curriculum and instruction) for "Fifth and Sixth Grade Students' Explanations of Global Warming and Ozone: Conceptions Formed Prior to Classroom Instruction" in the Social and Behavioral Sciences category.

Third-place winners were Laura Moorhead (landscape architecture) in Arts and Humanities; Jianzhong Zhang, Zheng Zhang, and Brett Guenther (electrical engineering) in Engineering Sciences; Laurie Bishel (ecology), Keith Gooch (aerospace engineering), and Christine Jurasinski (physiology) in Health and Life Sciences; Frances Cooper (geosciences) and Pawel Keblinski (physics) in Physical Sciences; and Sherrie Bartell (public administration) in Social and Behavioral Sciences.

Receiving honorable mention in the contest were Kristen Aherne (animal science); Amy Bonser (plant physiology); Karen Bice (geosciences); Grant Braught (electrical engineering) (see story on page 00); Rike Brisson (comparative literature); Stephen Cumblidge (nuclear engineering); Anne Bennett Edwards (human development and family studies); Ramnath Ganesan (engineering science and mechanics); Joan Graham (human development and family studies); Julia Grant (human development and family studies); Kathleen Kreahling (agricultural economics and rural sociology); Jinwhan Lee (industrial and management science engineering); Alison Hiller (forestry resources); Jun Li (materials science and engineering) (see story on page 00); Naomi Lovallo (entomology); Guowen Lu, Mingzhe Lu, and Tracy Hudson (electrical engineering); Timothy Mayer (microbiology and immunology); Tammy Babe Means (adult education, instructional systems, and vocational and industrial education); Grover Paul Miller and Bruce Posner (chemistry); Tongkun Pai (nutrition); Richard Moraga (psychology); V. M. Palekar, C. J. Lee, and R. J. Shah (chemical engineering); Christopher Poe (civil and environmental engineering); Joan Ramage (geosciences); Marjorie Rawhouser (bioengineering); Craig Robinson (astronomy and astrophysics); Kristen Robinson (sociology) Troy Schilling (physics) Tatyana Shchergan and Jun Shi (biology); Kimberly Shafer-Weaver (veterinary science); Andrew Smith (mechanical engineering); Donald Smith (agricultural and biological engineeing); Steven Spadt (bioengineering); Becky Spritz (psychology) Matthew Alan Stough (materials); Peter Wei (chemical engineering).

Last Updated December 01, 1995