Palmer Museum of Art announces fall 2017 Docent Choice Tours

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State invites the public to stop by the museum on Sundays this semester to spend an afternoon in the galleries with a docent-guided tour. Tours begin at 3 p.m. in the Christoffers Lobby and last approximately 45 minutes. Each tour will be unique and led by a different docent, focusing on an area of their particular interest.

The tour schedule is as follows:

Sunday, Sept. 17: 

"Flowers and Fruit: Representations in Still Life" with Katherine Yeaple

Sunday, Sept. 24:  

"Let’s Take a Painting Apart!" with Susan McCartney

Sunday, Oct. 1:

"Men of the Palmer" with Lauren Grego

Sunday, Oct. 8:

"Hudson River School" with Nancy Weinreb

Sunday, Oct. 15: 

"Funk Art" with Deborah Meszaros

Sunday, Oct. 22: 

"Bay Area Artists at the Palmer" with Cathy Zangrilli

Sunday, Oct. 29:  

"Depicting Women" with Betsy Allen

Sunday, Nov. 5:

"Art with a Message" with Jackie Sobel

Sunday, Nov. 12:   

"Sculpture at the Palmer" with Karen Lintner

Sunday, Nov. 19:    

"The Inspiration of New York City: American Art and Artists Come of Age" with Sally Kalin

Sunday, Dec. 3:

"My Birthday Present to Myself: My Favorites" with Susan McCartney

Sunday, Dec. 10:   

"American Art, American History" with Vinnie Scanlon

Sunday, Dec. 17 : 

"Portraits through the Ages" with Dotty Ford

All programs are held at the Palmer Museum of Art and sponsored by the Friends of the Palmer Museum of Art unless otherwise noted.

Exhibitions on view at the Palmer Museum of Art this fall are "Asher B. Durand: To Begin Again," Sept. 5 through Dec. 10; "New Acquisitions: Minna Citron after Atelier 17," Sept. 5 through Dec. 10; and "BIG Deal: Sizeable Paintings from the Permanent Collection," Sept. 5 through Dec. 17.

For more information on the museum and a calendar of other upcoming events, visit palmermuseum.psu.edu.

About the Palmer

The Palmer Museum of Art on the Penn State University Park campus is a free-admission arts resource for the University and surrounding communities in central Pennsylvania. With a collection of 8,300 objects representing a variety of cultures and spanning centuries of art, the Palmer is the largest art museum between Pittsburgh and Philadelphia. Areas of strength include its collection of American art from the late 18th century to the present, Old Master paintings, photography, ceramics and studio glass, and a growing collection of contemporary art. The museum presents 10 exhibitions each year and, with 11 galleries, a print-study room, 150-seat auditorium, and outdoor sculpture garden, the Palmer Museum of Art is the leading cultural resource for residents of and visitors to the region.

Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday and noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. The museum is closed Mondays and some holidays. The museum will have modified hours of noon to 4 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 18, through Sunday, Nov. 26; and Saturday, Dec.16, through Thursday, Dec. 21. The museum will be closed Thursday, Nov. 23; Friday, Nov. 24; and Friday, Dec. 22, through Monday, Jan. 1, 2018.

The Palmer Museum of Art receives state arts funding support through a grant from the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, a state agency funded by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated September 12, 2017