Opening student reception at the Palmer Museum on Oct. 20

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Palmer Museum of Art invites students, faculty, staff, and the public to an opening reception for the exhibition, "Expanded Practice," to be held at the museum from 5:30 to 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 20. Visitors can enjoy a cookie, conversation, and recent work from School of Visual Arts professors at this reception.

"Expanded Practice," on view from Oct. 18 through Dec. 11, invites viewers to rethink the human and social reach of creative art practices within diverse institutional settings at a time of uncertain cultural change. This exhibition features the work of faculty members from Penn State’s School of Visual Arts who continue to expand the visual tradition of creative exploration in multiple ways. On view will be work by Brian Alfred, Michael Collins, Shannon Goff, Andrew Hieronymi, Aaron Knochel, Tom Lauerman, Eduardo Navas, Matthew J. Olson, Eric Roman, Rudy Shepherd, Stephanie Snider and Ann Tarantino.

A series of Gallery Talks will be held about the exhibition throughout the fall semester. All talks will take place at 12:10 p.m. on Fridays in the exhibition gallery located on the museum’s second floor. The schedule is as follows:

• Shannon Goff, assistant professor of art, and Tom Lauerman, assistant professor of art, will lead a Gallery Talk on Friday, Oct. 21.

• Stephanie Snider, associate professor of art, and Ann Tarantino, assistant professor of art, will lead a Gallery Talk on Friday, Oct. 28.

• Brian Alfred, assistant professor of art, and Rudy Shepherd, associate professor of art, will lead a Gallery Talk on Friday, Nov. 4.

• Michael Collins, assistant professor of art, and Matthew J. Olson, instructor, will lead a Gallery Talk on Friday, Nov. 11.

• Aaron Knochel, assistant professor of art education, and Andrew Hieronymi, assistant professor of art, will lead a Gallery Talk on Friday, Nov. 18.

• Graeme Sullivan, director of the Penn State School of Visual Arts and professor of art education, will lead a Gallery Talk on Friday, Dec. 2.

• Eduardo Navas, assistant professor of art, and Eric Roman, visiting assistant professor of art, will lead a Gallery Talk on Friday, Dec. 9.

Also on view at the Palmer Museum of Art this fall are "Recent Acquisitions: Gifford Beal in Rockport," Aug. 23 through Dec. 18, and "The Gentle Satire of Adolf Dehn," Aug. 30 through Dec. 18.

The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State is located on Curtin Road and admission is free. Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, and noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. The museum is closed Mondays and some holidays. Extended hours: Thursday, Oct. 20 and 27, 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Reduced hours: Saturday, Nov. 19, through Sunday, Nov. 27, noon to 4 p.m.; and Saturday, Dec. 17, through Thursday, Dec. 22, noon to 4 p.m. The museum will be closed Thursday, Nov. 24; Friday, Nov. 25; and Friday, Dec. 23, through Monday, Jan. 2, 2017.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated October 18, 2016