Palmer Museum of Art announces 'The Art of Music' fall 2016 performances

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Palmer Museum of Art presents the 12th season of “The Art of Music,” its popular music series featuring performers from the Penn State School of Music and the community. All are invited to enjoy beautiful chamber music and virtuosic solo performances in the inspiring setting of the galleries. Admission is free, but seating is limited.

The performance schedule is as follows:

  • Timothy Hurtz, oboe; Daryl Durran, bassoon; Mark Ferraguto, harpsichord; and friends will perform "Going for Baroque" at 12:10 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 21.
  • Flute Studio, directed by Naomi Seidman, will perform "Birdhouse: Flutes of Many Feathers" at 12:10 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct.19.  
  • Open Music Ensemble, directed by Kevin Sims, will perform "Mutual Provocation: Music, Action, and Thought" at 12:10 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 16.  
  • State High Chamber Singers, directed by Erik Clayton, director of choirs, State College Area High School, will perform "Songs of the Season" at 12:10 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 14.

Exhibitions on view at the Palmer Museum of Art this fall are "Recent Acquisitions: Gifford Beal in Rockport" from Aug. 23 through Dec. 18; "The Gentle Satire of Adolf Dehn" from Aug. 30 through Dec. 18; and "Expanded Practice" from Oct. 18 through Dec. 11.

The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State is located on Curtin Road and admission is free. Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, and noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. The museum is closed Mondays and some holidays. Extended hours: 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 6, 13, 20 and 27. Reduced hours: noon to 4 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 19, through Sunday, Nov. 27, and Saturday, Dec. 17, through Thursday, Dec. 22. The museum will be closed Thursday, Nov. 24; Friday, Nov. 25; and Friday, Dec. 23, through Sunday, Jan. 1, 2017.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated September 13, 2016