Palmer Museum of Art announces summer 2016 Docent Choice Tours

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Stop by the Palmer Museum of Art on Sundays this summer and spend an afternoon in the galleries with a docent-guided tour. Tours begin at 2 p.m. in the Christoffers Lobby and last approximately 45 minutes. Each tour will be unique and led by a different docent, focusing on their particular area of interest. Light refreshments will be served before and afterward and all ages are welcome.

The tour schedule is as follows:

Sunday, June 5 
“Heroes at the Palmer” with Gail Gilchrest

Sunday, June 12 
“The Sculpture of Seymour Lipton” with Karen Lintner

Sunday, June 19  
“African-American Artists at the Palmer” with Maureen Moses

Sunday, June 26
“Hello, Palmer!” (A highlights tour for families and children) with Laura Barthmaier

Sunday, July 3
“Bible Stories in Baroque Paintings” with Dotty Ford

Sunday, July 10 
“Peeling Onions: Looking at Four Living Artists” with Nancy Weinreb

Sunday, July 17
“Art and Literature” with Susan McCartney

Sunday, July 24
"So, Who's Looking?" (An exploration of the male and female gaze) with Joanne Bennett

Sunday, July 31
“Contemporary American Art” with Dotty Ford

Sunday, August 7
“A Glimpse of the Gilded Age” with Mary Ellen Litzinger

Sunday, August 14
“Works of Art with a Tale to Tell” with Mary Jo Everhart

Sunday, August 21
“Visions of You & Me: Portraiture at the Palmer” with Betsy Allen

Sunday, August 28
“The Hidden Meaning of Clothing in Art” with Deborah Meszaros

For more information, call 814-865-7672. The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State is located on Curtin Road and admission is free. Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday and noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. The museum is closed Mondays and some holidays.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated June 01, 2016