Palmer Museum of Art announces spring 2016 Docent Choice Tours

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.– Stop by the Palmer Museum of Art on Sundays this semester and spend an afternoon in the galleries with a docent-guided tour. Tours begin at 2 p.m. in the Christoffers Lobby and will last approximately 45 minutes. Each tour will be unique and led by a different docent, focusing on an area of their particular interest. Light refreshments will be served afterward and all ages are welcome.

Sunday, Jan. 10
"Bible Stories in Baroque Paintings" with Dotty Ford

Sunday, Jan. 17 
"Seymour Lipton Sculptures" with Jackie Sobel

Sunday, Jan. 24
"A Comparison of Formal Elements in Three Paintings" with Gail Gilchrest
 
Sunday, Jan. 31
"California Artists of the 50s: Bay Area Figuration" with Sally Mahan

Sunday, Feb. 7
"Artists Born after 1950" with Nancy Weinreb

Sunday, Feb. 14
"Love at the Palmer" with Susan McCartney

Sunday, Feb. 21
"Early Entrepreneurs in Asian Ceramics" with Ann Hettmansperger

Sunday, Feb. 28
"Hands in Works of Art at the Palmer" with Cathy Zangrilli

Sunday, March 13
"Portraits" with Marcia Heitzmann

Sunday, March 20
"Secrets at the Palmer" with Joanne Bennett

Sunday, April 3
"Lisa Scheer's “Norn's Bower”: The Gateway to the Palmer" with Sally Kalin

Sunday, April 10
"Understanding Paintings" with Susan Hutchinson

Sunday, April 17
"Biblical Women" with Christine McCarter

Sunday, April 24
"Surrealism in Works on Paper" with Susan Hirth

Sunday, May 1
"Landscapes" with Mary Jo Everhart

Sunday, May 8
"The Architecture of the Palmer" with Vinnie Scanlon
 

The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State is located on Curtin Road and admission is free. Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, and noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. The museum is closed Mondays and some holidays. 

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated January 05, 2016