Students at Penn State Fayette recognized for excellence

Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus, held its 48th annual Student Awards Banquet May 2 at the Uniontown Holiday Inn, where students, staff, faculty and their guests gathered to recognize student accomplishments during the 2013-14 academic year.

The Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award is given to a student from each of Penn State’s undergraduate campuses for outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship that have been directed into programs and services. This year’s award went to Ashley Knauer for positively influencing her fellow students, and for contributing to the prestige and well-being of the Fayette campus and the University.

The Dennis Hippo Memorial Award, which is named for a member of Penn State Fayette’s first graduating class, honors students who exemplify leadership, campus and community involvement, academic persistence, service and altruism. The 2014 award recipients were Katherine Rosenbauer and William Addis.

The Scholastic Excellence Award recognizes students who compete in a rigorous written and oral academic research presentation. This year’s finalists were Heather Rattay, Miguel Villalbas and Garrett Wingrove, who won the award.

The complete list of student award winners follows:

University Awards

-- Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award: Ashley Knauer

-- President’s Freshman Award: Brianne Bosich, Christine Bruno, Allana Conn, William Dearth, Jia Fan, Summer Fiori, Brian Fredrickson, Kendall Kephart, Matthew McCloskey, Joshua Quinn, Hankun (Al) Zhang

-- President Sparks Award: Hang (Daniel) Cheng

Academic Awards:

-- Administration of Justice Award: Garrett Wingrove

-- Associate in Business Administration Award: Heather Smitley

-- Bachelor of Science in Business Award: Andrew Hydak

-- English and American Studies Award: Rachael Franks

-- Human Development and Family Studies Award: Rachael Franks

-- Physical Therapy Assistant Award: Ashley Pfunter

-- Thelma Sandy Award in Nursing: Miranda Jones, Breanna Filburn

Campus Awards:

-- Scholastic Excellence Award: Garrett Wingrove

-- David J. Leone Memorial Leadership Award: Kenneth Whyel

-- Dennis Hippo Memorial Award: Katherine Rosenberger, William Addis

-- Joanne Genova Sujansky Memorial Leadership Award: Stephen Dzambo

-- Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award: Keith Medley

Last Updated May 09, 2014